Mary Vertulfo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mary’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Graphic Designer and Dance teacher
  • Student at University of Oregon
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Mary and I am a student at the University of Oregon! I study Digital Arts with a minor in Comic Studies. I find that I love the interdisciplinary approach and I feel lucky to be able to studying them at a University and make connections with my teachers and fellow students who only further my passion for the arts.

Two things I live by are that:

1. Everything happens for a reason. I am so incredibly lucky to have been raised by parents who so embrace travel and have encouraged me to spread my wings a bit as I've grown! Missed flights, lost baggage and rainy days are all blessings in disguise (perhaps the city isn't ready to let go of you, or you needed to lighten your load! Or even maybe take a rest day.) Any chance to meet new people while travelling can open up endless opportunities, they just have to be taken!

2. Nothing great is ever done without enthusiasm. Every opportunity to try something or meet someone is such a gift and positivity and wholeheartedness are the best ways to embrace the new day!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I enjoyed meeting people and travelling so much last summer that I am trying to make more connections abroad.

I hope that someday I can provide a couch when I am back in Oregon, however I don't live in a major city, although I am sure there are plenty of people stopping through! I love my hometown so much, I would hope that people would be as inclined to stay there as they would be a large tourist-y attraction. We have so many great places to see, hike, explore, and eat that it offers enough to last you a long weekend!

Interests

I am really interested in comics, books, drawing and illustration! I used to travel just to draw the scenery, but this summer I will be in Europe mainly to volunteer at a studio and draw comics! Check out my comic blog here! http://www.maryvertulfo.com/

I love to go outdoors and I am excited to finally have the summer sun back as part of my daily routine! Otherwise I love exploring, visiting new places and meeting new people, as I always find that there are things we all have in common and that great friendships stem from shared experiences.

  • arts
  • singing
  • performing arts
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • running
  • partying
  • comics
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • art history
  • history
  • art
  • drawings

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to a lot of folk music, the music culture where I am from is so diverse! If I can dance it, I'm totally in!
Wherever I travel I bring a book and my art supplies! So if you have an inspiring read to recommend, send it my way.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've run 3 half marathons! (Although if you asked me to run a mile today I don't think I could, haha).

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to teach others the value of creativity. We are all creative, positive beings and I want to help people realize how valuable we are all to the community, in so many different ways! Anything about art, music, or creativity in any for of expression is very important to me.

I hope that I can learn about a city from someone who appreciates it for the reasons it is great to live in, not just visit. Some cities are fun to visit (Las Vegas, Manhattan) but I find that the reasons people LIVE and VISIT places are completely different!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I hope that I can share with my hosts a mutual optimism and enthusiasm about the joy of traveling, meeting new people and having new experiences! I also love to lead impromptu sing alongs, dance parties, and share stories about travelling.

I would also be open to cooking a meal for hosts, given I have a bit of time and resources! My parents raised me with cuisine both classic American as well as Filipino so I can usually come up with a fun meal and enjoy it with new friends with an honest conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Costa Rica, Denmark, England, Germany, Northern Ireland, Philippines, Spain, Sweden, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mary’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups