MaryElizabeth Hirsch's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MaryElizabeth’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 50, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Web design. I work in my pajamas on most days.
  • BA psychology and fine art.
  • From Fort Worth, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm an open-minded, friendly, and curious person who enjoys meeting people from different walks of lives and cultures. I like to be exposed to new ideas and become inspired by others' adventures. I unschooled my youngest son and I am a whole life unschooler. I enjoy good food, drink, & conversation. I believe in living simply, having compassion for all, and going on adventures. Truth be told, I've not had nearly as many adventures as I'd like, but now that my kids are grown, I have a lot more freedom to travel.

I enjoy being active, although I'm a fat fit. ;) I enjoy hiking, walking, cycling, and camping. I also enjoy cities - architecture, parks, hole-in-the-wall restaurants, too. I don't mind touristy stuff, but I'm much more interested in experiencing what the locals enjoy. I'm not a go-out-and-party-all-night person, though. I try to leave space in my travels for unique and unplanned experiences.

My husband and I live in a small (but sweet) house in one of Fort Worth's coolest hoods (Fairmount Historic District). I'm 5th generation Fort Worthian, so I know a lot about what to do here and I'd be happy to share it with others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My husband and I have been planning for about a year to travel to Ithaca to visit my son, who is a graduate student at Cornell. He's been there two years and we've never been because of the cost of travel. Instead of flying there and back, we decided to take about 2 weeks to go places we've never been, like NYC and the beautiful countryside of NY and CT. I would LOVE it if a host would show us around (not required, though).

I'm happy to host others at my house in Fort Worth, TX. I can offer a couch in the living room for a single person. But... I've been known to fill the floor with air mattresses to accommodate more than one person.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I did some free-style traveling in my 20s. I hitchhiked and caught rides around the Southwest and eventually I spent spent several months living and volunteering at a New Mexico hostel and sleeping in a teepee on the bank of the Rio Grande.

In 2013, I couch surfed with my husband and son when we travelled to L.A. It was amazing meeting and living with another open-minded, unschooling family in CA. I met them through an unschooling couchsurfing group on Facebook, not here, so I don't have a reference from that trip. My host and I are still good friends.

Interests

Art, walking, cycling, camping, just being outdoors. Water. Waterfalls, fountains, lakes, rivers, etc. I love the ocean, but I rarely get there. Mountains. Anywhere that has a cool climate (compared to Tx). Exploring new places. Meeting people with different experiences than me. I like to do sporty stuff to raise funds for important causes, like leukemia/lymphoma, breast cancer, and suicide prevention. I'm very interested in Buddhism and Native American philosophy. Unschooling.

  • arts
  • architecture
  • design
  • causes
  • dining
  • massage therapy
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • flying
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • buddhist
  • business
  • volunteering
  • parks
  • lakes
  • rivers
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: All music! Well, maybe not screamo. I don't listen to the lyrics, though. I just love the music. This allows me to really enjoy music (like rap) that others don't.

(For whatever reason, I don't remember the names of actors, artists, authors, famous people,etc. If you ask me if I know or like ___________, I won't know who they are. But play me a tune and I can tell you if it's one of my favs.)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

At age 28, I sold everything I owned, bought a Swiss Army knife, a Patagonia fleece pullover (which I still own and wear), and good sleeping bag. I bought a train ticket going West and my life changed forever.

Teach, Learn, Share

My husband and I own a website design business, so we are happy to share what we know if it is helpful. Other areas of experience are owning your own business, alternative parenting, whole life unschooling, massage therapy, creating retreats, and making art.

What I Can Share with Hosts

An enthusiasm to get to know you and your city/town. I'll stay neat and tidy and be very respectful of your space. Gratitude!

Countries I’ve Visited

Costa Rica, Jamaica, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see MaryElizabeth’s full profile. It’s free!