Mary Tremain's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mary’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Teacher
  • BSc Degree in Applied Psychology; PGCE
  • From Penzance, Cornwall, England
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Improve my French, Spanish, surfing, horse-riding and capoeira skills, meet people, consume culture and have fun.

ABOUT ME

I've taken a break from teaching to travel, to experience life on the other side of the desk.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As a guest, I always try to contribute by buying in some food, cooking a meal, doing the washing up or, at the very least, wiping the floor after having a shower!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've met a wide spectrum of people through CS, opening my eyes to so many different cultures. One day, when I have my own place again, I look forward to hosting and sharing my home town in the way my hosts have, so generously.

Interests

*Horse-riding *Surfing *Capoeira *Languages *The Arts *Travel

  • arts
  • culture
  • capoeira
  • dining
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • surfing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Most recently read: The Handmaiden's Tale; Constance: The Tragic and Scandalous Life of Mrs Oscar Wilde, which I traded in Aix-en-Provence for a bi-lingual copy of The Importance of Being Ernest; A Long Way Down.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One?

Being in the sea, watching the sunset through crystal clear waves.

Going to get my horse before sunrise and watching wild boar grazing in the field.

The stained glass in that massive cathedral in Prague.

Squeezing through the caves under Budapest city.

Teach, Learn, Share

I cook a good nettle soup (in season), I know quite a bit about growing your own food and finding wild foods. I can teach the basics of surfing, help people with their English.

I'd love someone to help me improve my surfing, my french and my spanish, introduce me to their capoeira community, teach me how to follow a knitting pattern, show me how to cook something new.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, India, Laos, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Slovenia, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mary’s full profile. It’s free!