Maria Tokareva's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

Overview

  • 39 references 35 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning French
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • pursuing radness
  • Saint-Petersburg State University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find a mission?

ABOUT ME

I've done a few long bike trips (4 months around (Eastern and Central) Europe and Balkans in 2015 and 4 months around US in 2016), French Alps to Morocco (Fall-Winter 2017-2018). This Fall and Winter it's Australia and New Zealand, yay!

I'm vegetarian, don't smoke, don't drink much (but don't mind having some tasty beer or sider occasionally), love dogs and friendly cats.

// This part for when I'm home//
I'm 32, I enjoy long-distance bike trips and Couchsurfing (and Warmshowers) has made them a lot more interesting. I live in Saint-Petersburg when I'm not on trips (4-5 months out of the year) and I'd love to pay it forward by hosting like-minded travellers. I strongly believe in reading profiles (that makes for a much better experience), so I'll only accept requests from people that do. That includes My Home tab (to ensure there's no misunderstandings).

(you can see my travel journals here facebook.com/thethighsofsteel
and here in Russian http://vk.com/thighs_of_steel, and instagram @thighs_of_steel)

I work from home, so you can show up usually any time. I'm fine with last-minute requests but can't promise I'll always see them in time to accomodate you.

PHILOSOPHY

Generally, everyone can and should be able to do whatever they want to as long as they're genuinely trying to not hurt other creatures and take away their freedoms.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Was hosted

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

GREAT

Interests

bicycle
genetics and evolution
neuroscience
social psychology
animal behavior
physiology
fitness

  • animals
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • fitness
  • traveling
  • camping
  • sailing
  • neuroscience
  • psychology
  • bicycle touring
  • bicycle

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - (some recent faves) The End of Tour, Never Let Me Go, The Sweet Life, Still Alice
Shows - The Office, Silicon Valley, You're The Worst, Good Wife, Six Feet Under, Scrubs, BoJack, Black Mirror
Books - The Selfish Gene by Richard Dawkins, Aggression by Konrad Lorenz, Predictibly Irrational by Dan Ariely, Walden by Henry David Thoreau
Courses - Social Psychology, Introduction to Behavioral Economics, Nutrition, Physiology, Neurobiology, Genetics and Evolution

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rope and parachute jumping
Camping on an island in Cambodia (including sleeping and a tent and in a hammock 2 meters from the ocean)
Assisting in making a boat out of garbage and then sailing it
Travelled around Europe for 4 months solo on a bycicle (9000 km, May-August 2015) and around US for 4 months (solo and with a companion) April-July 2016

Teach, Learn, Share

Eh I don't know I'm sort of knowledgeable about nutrition (although you can't really tell, I carry various amounts of extra fat due to my love of carbs, and bailing on lifting weights)
I can teach you some fun Russian words if you're into that
I want to learn how to do a handstand without throwing my legs up next to a wall

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can make some Russian pancakes and pretty delicious (5/5 stars, 4 reviews) salads, talk Russian to you, impress you with my cursory knowledge in so many areas (I work with lots of texts on various topics AND listen to a ton of podcasts - not to go mad while cycling so much).

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mauritania, Montenegro, Morocco, Poland, Romania, Senegal, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Portugal, Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

My Groups