Derek Michael's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Derek’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Friend, Lover, Poet, Scientist, Student
  • 4 years in University. Science/Philosophy, Mystic arts.
  • From small town USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

expanding my conciousness and learning from what the world has to offer.

ABOUT ME

I love random suprises. I enjoy the good life, relaxed pace. I have a small footprint, i strive for simplicity, and that is sort of odd coming from such a a complex individual.

I am highly variable in my expressive qualities.
I have a remarkable ability to adapt to new environments.
I am extremely happy to be alive and well.
I am very thankful for my good health and the love that I have experienced in my short time here on the
planet.

I love good food, i like cooking it and eating it. I enjoy pretty much everything, I consider myself an "opportunivore"

I have an amazing bank of stories that I tell in a very animated and enthusiastic way, I have had a great deal of very interesting and exciting events happen in my life and it has made me the person I am today.

Sun in Capricorn, Moon in Aries â

PHILOSOPHY

i am an optimist and somewhat fatalistic.

do as thou wilt

everything in moderation--including moderation

I do not know who i am or what i am- i know i am here and that for some reason it was worth while for thing like "myself" to "be" and call its self a self, and ask why?

rock and roll

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Mexico city for my first time!

Interests

Nature, Science, Physics, stars, anthropology, food, music, fungi, travel, politics, medicine, poetry, art, dancing,love, electricity, sailing, fishing, swimming, building, biking, mixing, computers, gardening, design, drumming, didj, glass blowing, ceramics, books, painting, vocabulary, teaching, learning, language, meditation, fitness, positive thinking, antiques, history, pastry, chocolate!, coffee!, blankets, plants, archeology, gear, camping, hammocks,

  • arts
  • books
  • poetry
  • design
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • coffee
  • fitness
  • meditation
  • gardening
  • politics
  • traveling
  • pottery
  • painting
  • music
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • camping
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • anthropology
  • archeology
  • biology
  • history
  • medicine
  • physics
  • science
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

i am a self programmer.

I respond well to audio/visual stimulation when it interests me. otherwise movies can sometimes be torture.

i like all kinds of documentaries, i will pretty much always make time for a good documentary. I am always asking what do i want to learn?

Books: i don't read enough, but i have read a lot.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I helped to find a cure for cancer.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am an amateur Mycologist of 8 years.

Botany, Mycology, Biology,

existentialism, sociology,

Philosophy of recreation
"intrinsic motivation"

Countries I’ve Visited

Guatemala, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Mexico, Panama, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Derek’s full profile. It’s free!