Logo orange

Hugo van der Helm

Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

Maybe Accepting Guests

96% response rate · Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 26 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Chinese, German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • It consultant, globetrotter
  • University, IT and Business
  • From Rotterdam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

In the end, all you need to do is create happiness for yourself and those around you.

ABOUT ME

Hey guys, How are you? I'm Hugo, living in Holland. I got in contact with a few couchsurfers through my friend Peter and I've been hosting for a few years now.

last year I traveled around on my motorcycle, checked out eastern Europe and Asia. Now back in Rotterdam I'd like to host some people again.

PHILOSOPHY

Stay close to yourself, share the best you have with others and enjoy life to the fullest. Be a student to life, there are many teachers when you start to listen. Do not have high expectations, these will only disappoint you. However, have high ambitions and never give up on your dreams. Keep an open mind to new opportunities but stick to the things that are important to you. Remember that everything in life seeks a balance.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Cs is a great project, and I participate because I think it allows people to have a better time traveling than they would have in a hostel while allowing the hosts to have a good cultural experience. I participate in the regular meetings, I have hosted about 20 people now and I have surfed in Spain, Germany, Czech and Romania. So far, all experiences were good, some excellent!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Great! I always like the meetings (travellers: these are important if you want to have a good time anywhere you go) and have both hosted and surfed. I intend to keep it up :-)

Interests

Meeting new people, philosophy, history, heavy metal, a night out in the city, hanging in the pub with some friends, zombiemovies, motorcycles and much,much more.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: The big Lebowski, Fido, Lesbian vampire killers, District 9, Office space, Shaun of the dead, Leon, The neverending story, Kill bill, Semi-pro, Wolf of wallstreet. Books: Looking for something new to read. Music: Blues, Jazz, 60/70's, Metal, Rock, even a little bit classic... No dance. Seriously.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My entire lifetime :-) But to be more specific, working and living in Cameroon for four months was amazing. I was teaching at the university, helping an NGO and working with a orphanage where I managed to make a little difference and learned a lot about life.

http://www.travbuddy.com/maps/6778159

Teach, Learn, Share

Stuff I can teach you: Personal development, Improving your social life, Surviving the office jungle, Dutch (I actually met a few people who want to learn)

Stuff I want to learn: Motorcycle maintenance, Photography, German

What I Can Share With Hosts

beer, food and stories about traveling

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Nigeria, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Cameroon

Join Couchsurfing to see Hugo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile