Mathias Hentrich's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathias’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 33 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Japanese, Russian, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Consultant
  • Dr. rer. nat. (Research PhD) in biology, plant physiology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION:
Career.

RECENT MISSION:
Traveling around the world by land and water across all 7 continents. Start: 09/2010, End: 09/2012
Achieved.

TRAVEL ROUTE:
Germany > Poland > Belarus > Russia > Mongolia > China + Tibet > Nepal > Bhutan > Nepal > India > Sri Lanka > India > Bangladesh > India > Nepal > China + Tibet > North Korea > China > South Korea > Japan > China > Taiwan > China > Hong Kong > Macau > China > Vietnam > Cambodia > Laos > Thailand > Myanmar > Thailand > Malaysia > Singapore > Indonesia > Malaysia > Brunei > Malaysia > Philippines > Japan > Taiwan > Australia > New Zealand > Panama > Colombia > Ecuador > Peru > Bolivia > Chile > Argentina > Antarctica > Argentina > Chile > Argentina > Uruguay > Argentina > Brasil > Paraguay > Brasil > Panama > Costa Rica > Nicaragua > Honduras > El Salvador > Guatemala > Belize > Mexico > USA > Japan > USA > Canada > USA > Canada > container ship > Spain > Gibraltar > Spain > Portugal > Spain > Morocco > Western Sahara > Mauretania > Senegal > Gambia > Senegal > Algeria > Spain > France > Germany... Except Bhutan, Sri Lanka and Myanmar I did the rest without airplane - it's more exciting. :)

ABOUT ME:
I had two scholarships and passed my PhD in a short time with distinction. Meanwhile I founded an IT-consultant company, a student community, a club for rehabilitation of physically disabled, worked as a voluntary worker in more than a half dozen committees and so on...
To sum it up: I really like to work and to use my time meaningful. I decided to travel for a long time because I think that's the most useful thing one can do to broaden his own mind and be more sensitive to the things outside the "safe box".

MORE INFO ABOUT ME:
http://www.mathias.hentrich.org/
My former institute at the university:
http://www.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pflaphy/

PHILOSOPHY:
"Am Ende wird alles gut!"
"Nur nicht aufgeben."
"Man weiß ja nie."
"Carpe diem."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING:
Sharing stories, contributing money and recommending the CouchSurfing-community wherever I meet other travelers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE:
1) Moscow/Russia - 2 days
2) Irkutsk/Russia - 2 days
3) Ulanbataar/Mongolia - 5 days
4) Beijing/China - 15 days
...please see the references.

Interests

People, cultures and new impressions/insights/perspectives. Furthermore: Business, motorbike (Suzuki DR 650), IT, natural sciences, world affairs, nightlife, hidden things.

  • outdoor activities
  • biology
  • business

Music, Movies, and Books

Movie: Idiocracy, Fight Club, Amélie, Adam's Apples, Stardust.
Music: Almost everything but not sad stuff --> Music which makes you feel good, happy and full of energy.
Books: State of Fear, Day of the Jackal

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

After finishing the university I immediately decided to travel. I had no time and no equipment and bought 90% of all the travel stuff just five days before my departure in Europe's biggest outdoor-shop. Then I started my journey to find a way around the world without an airplane, without a planned route and always decide my next stop from case to case... it worked out! :D

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Surviving at the university, biology, IT stuff, Business, Travel
Learn: I'm interested in almost everything.
Share: Stories, knowledge, point of views.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happiness! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Andorra, Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, England, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Gibraltar, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North Korea, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Senegal, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Japan

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathias’s full profile. It’s free!