Matt Shultzman's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Secrest Arboretum
  • Ohio State University - Horticulture
  • From OH, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey I'm Matt and I call Wooster OH home. Currently focused on evolving through community, openness, awareness, self reflection, solo traveling and connecting with others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Connections, experiences, laughs, inspiration.

Interests

  • concerts
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • gardening
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • road trips
  • plants
  • guitars
  • recording
  • vinyl records

Music, Movies, and Books

My music interests are all over the place. I can find something I like in every genre. Been getting more into world music, especially Nigerian psychedelic, old soul and funk, and some more ambient electronic music. Some of my favorites include Talking Heads, LCD Soundsystem, Tool, Brian Eno, The Knife, Tune Yards, Pink Floyd, Four Tet, Flaming Lips, PJ Harvey, Mars Volta, Madlib, J Dilla, Of montreal, Tortoise, Little Dragon, Funkadelic, Nina Simone, Flying Lotus, Sufjan Stevens, Devendra Banhart, and way too many more to list.
Movies: Enter the Void, Eternal Sunshine, Waking Life, Science of Sleep, 2001 and Clockwork Orange, V for Vendetta, Boyhood. Linklater, Tarantino, Kubrick. Need to be introduced to some classics.
Books: Just read The Invention of Nature, about Alexander Humboldt, great read. I enjoy historical nonfiction. Carl Sagan books..

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have either engineered, recorded, produced or mixed and handful of albums with bands I was in, or with friends who needed to complete an album.
Have also helped create from scratch, curate and coordinate two art and music festivals.
Volunteered on a reforestation project in the jungles of Peru.
Participated in a Lakota Yuwipi and sweat lodge ceremony.

Teach, Learn, Share

I work with plants, managing a greenhouse and nursery for an arboretum, growing all types of trees and shrubs, also flowers and vegetables from seed, caring for an antique rose collection, water gardens, and many other themed gardens, so I can teach a lot about plants. I also know quite a bit about recording music, and love to share and learn from others music and film interests. I could teach guitar as well, though my skills are getting a little rusty.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share good times, conversation, new and different music, stories, a kind heart, and a desire for a new adventure.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, England, Peru

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!