Matthew Mollet's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Bengali, Bangla, Chinese, Indonesian, Māori, Spanish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • TEFL Teacher
  • Grad Dip in ECE
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make the most out of life and have fun doing it - Kia Kaha!

ABOUT ME

I enjoy learning about the world, meeting different people & experiencing new things.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe life in the Maori proverb: "He aha te mea nui o te ao?He tangata! He tangata! He tangata!
What is the most important thing in the world?
It is people! It is people! It is people!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COACHSURFING

As I am traveling at the moment I hope to meet lots of different people, who can later visit me in NZ.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've met same really friendly couchsurfer hosts in Dhaka.

I stayed at with a helpful coachsurfer at his place outside of Brisbane.

Interests

I enjoy reading good books, keeping fit, eating healthily & sports as well.

I enjoy Surfing (when I can), yoga, hiking & keeping fit.

  • singing
  • yoga
  • coach
  • walking
  • partying
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sports
  • cricket
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • rugby
  • swimming
  • world cup
  • teaching
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - Coen Brothers, The Shawshank redeption, Star Wars trilogy (originals), Jack Nicholson films.....

Music - Diverse mix from Rap, Hip Hop, Techno D & B, Opera, Classical, Soul, Rock (favourite band is PJ).

Books - I like to read Indian Historical fiction, biographies and interesting non fiction books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Returning to Bangladesh and visiting the village of the girl I sponsor. The way that the whole village turned out to greet us like we were royalty and how generous they were to us made it a quite emotional experience.

Traveling around China and meeting so many people that were all so friendly and keen to find out what I was doing and where I was from.

Visiting the Franz Joseph Glacier on the west coast of NZ. It was so different from anything I had ever seen. Climbing all over this enormous piece of ice, with tons of ice sculptures, caverns and holes.

Teach, Learn, Share

As an early childhood teacher I guess I know a bit about child development. I've recently been teaching English, so could help people learning English.
I'm always keen to learn some useful phrases in other languages.
Keen to go surfing (on actually waves) with any travelers who surf too. Or tramping/hiking/walking around NZ or overseas.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my experiences of other countries & cultures. Along with my great sense of humour!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Malaysia, Mexico, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, Indonesia, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

My Groups