Matthew Cox's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • On a gap year before university
  • From Isle of Wight, England
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore New Zealand, top to bottom

ABOUT ME

I'm an 18 year old from a small island on the south coast of England. Recently just finished high school and didn't fancy jumping into another 3/4 years of education at university, thus I took a gap year.

PHILOSOPHY

"It is the experiences, the memories, the great triumphant joy of living to the fullest extent in which real meaning is found..."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Currently just travelling, but in the future I would like to host.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couch surfed just twice so far; in Whangarei over Christmas 2011 and in Wellington in May 2012.

Interests

Music: listening to and going to festivals and gigs. Movies, travel, food, drink, cooking, the outdoors, exploring, learning, driving and meeting new people.

  • festivals
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Explosions in the Sky, Radiohead, The Beatles, City and Colour, Bon Iver, Death Cab For Cutie, Mumford & Sons, Joshua Radin. Alexisonfire. The Rocket Summer. In short, I like a lot of music.

Back To The Future, Gran Torino, Friday Night Lights, The Shawshank Redemption, Superbad, Into The Wild.

I buy a lot of books but always forget to read them which is a shame. I like non-fiction books. Currently reading Into The Wild and can't put it down.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I flew to the other side of the world on my own after finishing school.
Jumping out of a plane at 15,000 feet.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been told that I make really good cheesecake, so I could teach you how to make a nice cheesecake!

I've always wanted to learn an instrument, but despite having four guitars, I've never got round to it, so I'd love to learn an instrument!

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Greece, New Zealand, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!