Matthew Mitchell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Dutch, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Student
  • Interning in Eindhoven in the Netherlands
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I cannot currently host because my landlord would not let me.

I would like to see more of the world and experience different places and people's ideas. I'm always happy to learn new things.

ABOUT ME

I'm English. I am a bit of a hippy/nerd and I studying machine learning and artificial intelligence and all that jazz at a university in the Netherlands. I am looking to live and work outside the UK when I graduate.

PHILOSOPHY

Here is some philosophy.

I think community is important and it isn't something that government can manage from the top, it needs to be done at a grass roots level. I also predict that the planet's boundaries are going to be a the forefront of this century and we need to shift our para-dime of the world to a finite resource planet. I have heard some say that technology can fix everything and make everything super efficient but I think the effect of this will be limited. This may all sound very left wing so far but I'm not really in that camp.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like to meet new people and I usually visit a local market nearby to cook something and share experience with my host. I hope to become host myself in the near future.

I think couch surfing is "social media done right" as it is focused on connecting people. Facebook is all well and good but the main focus of that site is putting loads of pictures of yourself online for people to comment on in your news feed.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have never couch surfed before but I have hitch hiked so I guess I´m trustworthy enough to be in someone´s car and not make a mess.

Interests

So I'm working as an intern at a software company making AI things. There is always a lot to learn. Never the less, I make time for a bit of drawing and yoga, I recommend both of these things for a healthy life-style . I'm pretty good at writing fiction but I don't get much time to indulge this hobby. I like cycling to see different places.

I've made beer and wine from a young age, in recent years made some non-grape wine from foraged ingredients. I would like to make a my own brand of beer one day. I welcome a good beer and conversation, I think beer can bring people together but I don't normally drink to excess.

I'm one of the eight English men who knows how to cook.

Music, Movies, and Books

Top 10 films... The Big Lebowsk, The Quiet American, Nuns on the Run, Pulp Fiction, Heat, Blade Runner, Get Shorty, 48 Hours, American Beauty and Gone Girl.

I am a fan of most music, in particular jazz is nice to sit and listen to, folk music that tells a story is highly underrated and rock in night club never goes a miss.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was the youngest person to travel on the Trans-Siberian express which was a really rickety communist made train that not even Russians would use. I was 2 at the time and I got a medal for doing it. I didn't make any fuss at all. This is a great achievement.

When I was an Erasmus, I cycled for two days to get to Narbonne and then I spent Chirstmas day eating a French meal there and a kebab. I then spent two days cycling back and I cycled along the canal du midi. It is a cool journey with lots of wine fields and rustic villages.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you English, I even have a qualification to teach adults English (CELTA) so I'm happy to do that and I speak enough French and Spanish to get by and make conversation.

If you really want to learn a bit of programming/maths/banking I can teach that, but I doubt anyone will ever take me up on that offer.

I can teach you how to make beer or English food for what its worth.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good food, good beer and good conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Russian Federation, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, England, France, Netherlands, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.