Matthias Kyr's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 41 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2024
  • Soon to be teacher
  • College
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have always been passionate about foreign languages and exploring the world. The latter however was always difficult for me, as I didn't have the money, then, when I had a job, I always traveled to my now ex's mother's place in Spain and I only now being single can travel more.
I am working at the moment at a chemistry company, but only until the 15th of March 2024 and from the 17th on, I will do a road trip through France before starting my new job as a French- and Spanish teacher in September. The road trip will "only" go until end of June / beginning of July as from then on, I will most likely have to look for a new apartment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In the past, I have already been on couchsurfing, but I lost my access. I made great experiences in Brasil thanks to it, so I figured, I'd give it another try.
The described road trip will be expensive and I will have no income during this time, so couchsurfing would help a lot. Not only financially, but also getting to know locals, would be perfect, as traveling for me is not only taking nice pictures, but getting to know the life at these places and this is easier with locals.

Interests

  • video games
  • languages
  • travel
  • cultures
  • theme parks

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is very varied, but I don't like German Schlager and Techno.

I like animation films, but in general, I don't watch a lot TV in general.

About books: I did read some French classics and back then Harry Potter and His Dark Materials. But besides that, I tend to read non-fiction books

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My ERASMUS semester in France was very nice, as well as the intercultural relationship with my ex.
And during my trip to Vienna, I visited the zoo there and entered the Orang-Utan house. Some people were standing at the glass wall to watch them and so I joined them, already with my phone in hand to take a picture. The moment I arrived there, all the Orang-Utans approached us, especially one doing the monkey swings towards particularly me. I didn't think too much about it, watched them some time (happily, but also sad that they are in captivity, but also thinking that in their natural habitat they might be in danger because humans are simply the worst) and left after some time. The moment I left, they left the glass wall as well, as if they had approached it particularly for me. I still don't know why this happened, but this was quite magical to me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak some languages and studied to teach them, so this is something I could offer

What I Can Share with Hosts

My language skills and in general interesing intercultural anecdotes

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Hungary, Italy, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile.

My Groups