Matthias Beaufils--Marquet's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Russian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • political science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Now:
Living in Paris since one year. I could talk hours about Berlin, where I lived 4 years but I left almost 2 years ago. If you want to disover some music I'm your man, I don't travel with my vinyl collection, but everything is in the head ad the heart. I could share a nice mix that I played recently in a parisian bar!

Current travel:
I'll travel from Wien to Slovakia, then Krakow, to finally go back to Germany Dresden and my beloved Berlin <3

From the last travels:
2019
I traveled almost 3 weeks though Ivory Coast (Côte d'Ivoire) in March, visiting a friend. A unique experience including a 19hours long train to the North, hiking in a primary forest, many moto taxis and uncountable braised chickens with fried bananas !

2017
I traveled from Berlin to Cyprus 3 weeks long in Summer! I went by night trains to Istanbul, then busses and finally a boat (of course!). I made a one day short stop in Bucarest before the final train. The route was declined like: Istanbul-Bursa-Pergamon-Marmaris (short break in Rhodos). And the Kas before 5 days in Cyprus.
I loved discovering Turkey and it's culture and sometimes had very interesting discussions about the current situation.

---
About me
--
I avoid planes during my trips because planes tend to abolish distances: feeling is fully part of my journeys. Let's let planes and airports to boring business travellers. The planet and our climate will be a little better by the way.

" A homing pigeon" like my grand father used to say :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to try new ways of travel. I want to meet people as well as countries that I visit, like I do in my everyday life.

I refuse to use Airbnb, because it's a derive of the so called "sharing economy". If nobody has a couch for me, I will rather book a night in a youth hostel :) . Let's meet then in a bar if you have some time and share good tips !

Interests

I recently began a vinyl collection with an ambitious goal: gathering one vinyle for each country ! Logically, fleemarkets have become a tradition of the week-end to seek for rarities ;)

More common but still nice, I like cinema, climbing, bike, and politics

  • movies
  • rock climbing
  • vinyl records

Music, Movies, and Books

Now:
various movies like from Wes Anderson,
turkish Music like Altin Gün, electronic musics like arabic sounds and african beats

A long time ago:

metropolis by Fritz Lang
the meaning of life with Monty Python

atom heart mother by pink floyd
riders on the storm by the doors
Ulysses by franz ferdinand
wild cat by ratatat

Ubik by Philip K. Dick

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Not really "amazing", but maybe one of the most unusual holiday week in my life: a trip into France with a german friend driving a Trabant. If you don't know this car, I recommend you to wath Good Bye Lenin. Driving on the highway, though 100km/h, while hearing to Yann Tiersen, and old east German music was so much fun!

Update: here is something crazy I did; check it out: https://www.ladepeche.fr/2021/09/05/insolite-la-coupe-mulet-vedette-dun-championnat-deurope-organise-en-creuse-9770782.php

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can recommend you some music tips, especially if you are curious about the so bad labelled "world music" !

If you have apples ; 250g of butter ; some flour and a rolling pin, I'll make you the most delicious apple pie you've ever eaten.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Côte d'Ivoire, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile.