Matthias De Vylder's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning French, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Design / Illustration
  • Woodworking / Webdesign
  • From Ghent, Flanders, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A positive attitude and an open mind.

Born and raised in Belgium as the oldest of 3 brothers, my girlfriend and I have been living together in the beautiful city of Ghent for just over a year now. 

In our small house I've built a studio where I'm freelancing part time as a graphic designer and illustrator, mainly focussing on custom typography and calligraphy - a passion that grew out of a big graffiti fascination since I was a young kid. 

I love exploring the movement potential of our monkey body through skateboarding, bouldering and yoga. Offcourse this stretches out to enjoying being on the move while travelling and meeting new people. I haven't yet met anyone whose story didn't inspire in one way or another. 

www.matthiashenri.com
www.instagram.com/matthiashenri

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Deep introspection and shared connection, it's a balance thing. Obviously I'm on couchsurfing for the latter, meeting new people and making our travels a shared experience.

Can't help but feel there are some overlapping parts in discovering a new place and getting to know fellow humans. 

Interests

Anything creative.
I'm always sketching and love figuring out new ways to reach something.

DIY.
Nothing compares to the satisfaction of building something yourself vs buying.

Words.
Both the visual attraction of typography and the art of playing with words in a poetic sense - using language to go beyond language. 

And many more that a conversation could certainly dig up. 

  • illustrations
  • yoga
  • massage therapy
  • bouldering
  • skateboarding
  • calligraphy
  • acroyoga

Music, Movies, and Books

Any artist who puts soul into his work and knows how to work his tools deserves attention.

Music wise I like mostly alternative things. Hiphop - hard or funky, Stoner - slow and heavy. And the older classics like The Doors and Pink Floyd offcourse. 

Movies.

Anything Tarantino, Cloud Atlas, Fight Club, Catch Me If You Can, The Grand Budapest Hotel... Can't start to name them all. 

Books.

The Dark Tower series by Stephen King has my full attention at the moment.
Sex at Dawn by Chris Ryan. 
Graham Hancock's works.
Inferno by Dan Brown.

Can enjoy both fiction and non fiction stories.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking with wild cows in Tarifa, Southern Spain. 
Being able to skate again after ankle surgery.
Mind expanding experiences on handpicked psilocybin mushrooms.
Tasted Siberian shamanic liquor on the first ever night of couchsurfing.

Many moments to be grateful for. Let's make many more. 

Teach, Learn, Share

The plan is to never stop learning.

There are always new areas to explore in whatever it is that interest us.

One thing I could suggest is learning you how to Ollie on a skateboard, but I'd be glad to share whatever I can.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My gratefulness is yours. I'd be happy to help with whatever you're working on at the moment, or the dishes.

I try not to cheat at board-/card games.

If you have some oils, I also know how to massage.

Besides that: your home, your rules. I'm a clean person and eat with my mouth closed.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile. It’s free!