Matthijs Pontier's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthijs’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 67 References 51 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Latin, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Pirate
  • PhD: emotionally intelligent robots with a sense of moral...
  • From Amsterdam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Enjoy life! :D Meeting people is fun, and I like travelling :)


ENFP - The Champion

You scored 59% I to E, 21% N to S, 38% F to T, and 84% J to P!
Your type is known as the Champion type, which is part of the larger group called idealists. Nothing occurs that does not have some deep and ethical significance in your eyes. You see life as an exciting drama. You are very charismatic, yet tend to be too harsh on yourself for not being as genuine as you think you should be. 3% of the population shares your type.
As a romantic partner, you need to talk about what is going on in your life. You are a strong supporter for your partner's efforts to grow and change and be happy. You need to feel that same support from your partner. Expressive, optimistic, and curious, you are eager to enjoy new experiences with your partner, whom you wish to be your confidant and soul mate, as well as play mate. You are uncomfortable sharing negative emotion, though, and tend to withdraw from confrontation and process your feelings privately. You feel most loved when your partner appreciates your creativity, accepts your uniqueness, and sees you as the compassionate person you are. You need to hear your partner tell you how much you mean to them and would love if they did thoughtful spontaneous things to demonstrate it.
Your group summary: idealists (NF)
Your type summary: ENFP

ENTP - The Inventor

Your Type is 60% Extroverted, 38% Observant, 56% Logical and 0% Structured
The single word that describes your type is "inventor", and you belong to the larger group called rationals. You love to tinker with things and come up with new ideas. You are outgoing and curious with an insatiable appetite for knowledge. You have no real desire to lead, only doing so if there is no other way. 2% of the population share your personality type.
You are a flirtateous and energetic romantic partner, fun and engagin, always looking for something unusual to try. In your enthusiam, you may make promises you can't keep. Your competitive nature and need to be perceived as an expert can be daunting to a romantic partner at times. You so enjoy the tug of a good debate that sometimes you act as if you don't take anything seriously. You are usually very supportive and helpful to your mate, but somewhat scattered and unable to devote your full attention there. You feel most appreciated for your great ideas, unusualy perceptiveness, and ability to understand and communicate with people. You feel most appreciated when your partner understands your need for lots of social contact and your need to live life as spontaneously as possible.
Your group summary: rationals (NT)
Your type summary: ENTP


Everyone has to do what they think they'll enjoy the most (of course this counts for both long-term and short-term). For me this also means helping other people to enjoy their lives. I am very liberal, and think that people should be able to anything, as long as they don't hurt other people with it. I am always open for new experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I let people surf my couch, and I surf other people's couches :)

I am also active on the Amsterdam forum and meet with people for picknicks, parties and so on


I have asked people to camp in their garden a lot when on backpacking vacations in Easter Europe. Most of the time the people were really nice and even offered me to eat dinner with them, or arranged a bed for me. I think going somewhere and asking people if you can camp in their garden is a really nice way to meet people of other cultures and find out how they live.

I have let some couch surfers stay at my place, and every time it was a fun experience. Especially the stays in the weekend, because there was more time to hang out together.

I surfed some couches too now, and it were all nice experiences :) I really like the project!


Meeting people
Beer tasting

  • festivals
  • beer
  • partying
  • gardening
  • movies
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • socializing
  • music
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • soccer
  • tourism
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I really like to watch movies. Some movies I like:
The Edukators
Fight Club
American History X
Mulholland Drive
Shawshank Redemption
One flew over the cuckoo's nest
American Beauty
A Clockwork Orange
Avatar IMAX 3D

I like many different kinds of music:
At home, or at festivals, almost anything is fine. Like rock, reggae, jazz, etc. etc.
When I go to parties, i like (mainly harder types of) house music, like techno, hardcore, but I also like to go to (psy)trance parties.
You can check my at

I don't read much books, if I read it's most of the time to find information, and most of the time that's on the internet.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Done: Getting lost in the jungle and surviving two days and a night on my own without any supplies
-Seen: A lot of amazing places:

My travels so far

My travels so far

Map Legend: 15%, 42 of 263 Territories
Yellow Maroon

© | Travel Insurance

visited 5 states (10%)Create your own visited map of The United States

visited 8 states (22.8%)Create your own visited map of India or Free android travel guide

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach about what I study, (cognitive modelling, how the brain works), and I know a lot about all kinds of drugs, because for volunteer work I give people information about drugs (what are the risks, how can you reduce possible harms, etc.)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my travelling experiences and my MP3-collection, and tell people about my opinions on things, or discuss life philosophy, whatever :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Morocco, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthijs’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups