Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthijs’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning Arabic (North Levantine), German, Russian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Administration/Writer
  • master in history, master in philosophy
  • From Turnhout
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Work, learn

ABOUT ME

Grew up in a small city in Belgium. Finished school, started working at 22. Became a lumberjack, then a teacher. Restarted second uni degree at 25. Working full-time and studying full-time and studying Russian and Arabic now. Summer and easter vacation allow me to do all the rest I do. Recent update: moving to NYC to finish my novel! (almost done by now...) Update: settled in Brussels. Tired of traveling.

No drugs, no smoking.

PHILOSOPHY

A vast set of mostly incongruent beliefs. I presume most important is: not to be bored, to be as good to myself as to others and the world as possible.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I suppose it's time to offer a couch.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS became an important part of travelling for me. The immediate shot into the veins of a city is highly addictive!

Interests

I like reading, eating, learning, languages, random facts, history, cooking, a good conversation, humor, chaos, board games, languages, random encounters, sports, art and traveling.

  • arts
  • books
  • literature
  • cooking
  • politics
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • sports
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

"List any music, movies or books that you are interested in."

Impossible within this space. Here's a couple: GG Marquez, Borges, Lermontov, Dostojewski, Glover, C'est arrivé près de chez vous, Weezer, ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I drove a tractor into a canal. I lived in the US as an illegal alien.

Teach, Learn, Share

Philosophy, literature (mostly 19th century, I'm gradually moving into the 20th century), history, politics, Dutch, English, French, German, Arab, Russian and random facts.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthijs’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups