Logo orange

Amy Maughan

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Parenting
  • University
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to raise my daughters happily and enjoy their babyhood

ABOUT ME

When we are home, we can share our life and couch but if you are an individual and really keen to get my attention then check out my work away profile: http://www.workaway.info/

I love adventures and challenging myself. Traveling has always been a joy and I have no intention to stop now that I have my cherubs. In fact, they inspire me to want more 'cause I want them to know how full this world is of great people from different backgrounds and different cultures.

I have lived in the USA for some of my life. I have lived in the Northern Territory (NT) for 6 years and worked in Aboriginal education while I was there. I have two undergrad degrees (Arts-Women's Studies and Education-Primary) and I am half way through a Masters (Applied Linguistics). Oh and I have studied AUSLAN part-time years ago...so if you are Australian and Deaf then we can probably communicate enough to get by. But I'm currently not studying. I've done 3 10-day Vipassana Courses. But I'm currently not meditating. I used to eat meat but I'm currently vegetarian (17 years).

My birthdate is 10/10/1973 Libran-Ox.

My eldest daughter is Nikita. She is 6 years old (11/1/2007). She goes to school. Nikita has a beautiful singing voice but can be shy. She also loves playing games.

My "baby" daughter is Prairie. She is 4 years old (8/6/2008). Her favourite food is pasta spirals. Prairie mostly likes to do whatever Nikita does or run.

I don't "work" but stay "home" and mother full-time. As we live in a small flat and I think I'd go crazy if I didn't, we are out most days. We socialise constantly. Our favourite hang-outs are National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Museum, Scienceworks, Collingwood Children's Farm, Zoo, State Library, St Kilda Adventure Playground, Birrarung Marr playground, Artplay and The Royal Botanical Gardens. We live a city lifestyle and my girls are very urban savvy. We are mostly together all the time as I have 100% care for them (long story).

When we are home, we can share our life with families like ours...or if you are an individual and really keen to get my attention then check out my work away profile: http://www.workaway.info/

When we travel, I am hoping to enjoy activities similar to those we do in our day to day life plus new ones that are culturally specific to the places we are going.

I can't think of what else to say here...if you want to know something please ask.

PHILOSOPHY

My life is a work in progress inspired by loving and trusting.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm just beginning...or just meet for a coffee with a traveler who wants info or take a traveler on a bit of a day trip or day tour. I'm also happy to chat about traveling in Central Australia (Alice Springs, NT).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had couchsurfers stay in our flat. I have really enjoyed the people who have come and shared our life as well as done some of their own thing. My favourite experience was probably a Korean who taught me simple delicious Korean vegetarian family food that I still cook today.

Interests

my iPhone, cafes, eating, living healthily and happily, my computer, my friends and family, and I used to say movies before I had the girls.

Music, Movies & Books

heaps but my brain is blank

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I did a road trip ALONE with MY 6 MONTH OLD daughter through the Netherlands, Germany, France, and Beligum for 5 WEEKS.

I took my daughter around the world when they were 3 years and 19 months old - AMAZING!

I drove from Alice Springs to Robertson River alone in a 4WD and had to cross many rivers and 4WD up dangerous banks. And I loved it!

Teach, Learn, Share

hmmm, I'm not sure yet what I have to teach (but I am a teacher!) and I love learning (but often too tired to retain info at the moment). I think this is an interesting initiative of CS and will participate as soon as I can think of how.

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile