Logo orange

Matthew's Groups

Matthew Lee

London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Freelance journalist
  • Postgraduate degree
  • From London, UK
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Surviving Megabus

ABOUT ME

Hmmm... I'm a journalist from London who's spending the winter freezing to near-death in Montreal because clearly I'm a sucker for punishment.

I was off Couchsurfing for nearly two years, but I returned to it a couple of times recently and it was every bit as wonderful as I remember it. I'm very social and a big fan of good conversation, and I love to meet local people when I travel. To see more references I run food tours in London (http://www.vayable.com/users/3714) and use Airbnb (profile at https://www.airbnb.com/users/show/1473171)

I'm not doing this to save money, I'm doing this because it's social, human and beautiful.

All hosts will be rewarded with either beer, wine or chocolate - their choice!

PHILOSOPHY

I'm an optimist, always willing to try new things and take a few chances in life. I try to live in the present and not worry too much about the past or future. I do my best to be considerate and treat people with respect.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Only surfed in Switzerland, the United States and Canada so far.

Interests

Massive music geek - I love to watch local bands whenever I visit a new city. And I know all the best places to go if you're a music fan visiting London.

But my main reason for travel is probably food. I'm an omnivore and want to everything. I'm interested in politics, and will probably ask lots of questions, and I love theatre, literature, writing, comedy, art and travel.

Music, Movies & Books

Stuff like Yo La Tengo, Grandaddy, Dirty Three, Andrew Bird, Damien Jurado, Anais Mitchell. I love music festivals such as All Tomorrow's Parties and Primavera in Barcelona. Big fan of independent cinema, documentaries and literature.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hiking in southern Iceland
Joining the protests in Tahrir Square, Cairo
Running with Olympic athletes in Ethiopia

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, China, Croatia, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Georgia, Hungary, Iceland, India, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malaysia, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam, Yemen

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile