Matt Schwartz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • When I'm not reading, I'm taking pictures
  • Masters degree in Industrial & Organizational Psychology
  • From Geneseo, NY
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get back to Spain; experience life in 6 major regions of US (northeast, southeast, south, mid-west, west coast, northwest)

ABOUT ME

I recently gave up my job as a corporate lackey to work at a non-profit school for children who are developmentally delayed.

I'm a guy raised in a small, liberal college town who has lived throughout the Northeastern US (NY, NJ, CT, PA) while trying to figure out what direction to take in life.

I enjoy photography, reading, and my cats.

PHILOSOPHY

My personal philosophy on life is that it is short and you should spend the time doing things you enjoy. Since we all inhabit this planet at the same time during it's 4.5 billion year existence - how cool!- we should take extra time to care for each other.

Additional note: if you're the type to believe the world is only a few thousand years old, I'm probably not the host for you and vice-versa.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love Rochester and my hope is that you'd love it as much as I do. I'm pretty flexible as to the arrangements you'd like to make when you're visiting the area.

I'd be happy to show you all of my favorite things Rochester has to offer. I can provide general guidance; or I can leave you to your exploration!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couch surfed in Houston Texas and my partner and I did Airbnb in NYC and Toronto. I've only hosted once but now that I have a proper spare bedroom I hope to do it more.

Interests

- Taking photographs
- Site seeing/exploring new areas
- Discussing/debating american politics (I'm a liberal & was a political science major)
- Acting
- Netflix

  • pets
  • cats
  • theater
  • photography
  • acting
  • politics
  • reading
  • political science
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I tend to watch independent movies, documentaries, or heavy dramas. I chalk it up to being a pretty introspective and serious guy.

For books, call me sick but I really love tragic life stories that can be turned into comedies (Agusten Borroughs, Sedaris, & McCourt are examples). I think it takes a certain vulnerability to share personal tragedies in order to amuse others

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Experiencing the pace of life in Andalusia Spain. Realizing that I was mistakenly born in the fast-paced hustle of the states has changed my previous world view of "go faster, do more, get more!"

Secondly, bowed after performing on stage. If you've never done theater that's one amazing thing that never gets old.

Teach, Learn, Share

* I can teach you photography basics to help get you off "Automatic" mode of your camera - I can also take some pretty good photographs of you and your family/pets!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!