Matthew Wright

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • 68% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Hard to describe... in short, Educator. If you're interes...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To Be


Well, this isn't too easy for me to do. I'm not a big fan of talking too much about myself and I haven't done facebook or myspace so I don't have anything to copy and paste.

More coming soon... (ok, so its been like this for 4 years now... maybe there's not so much more to come)

A couple additions (finally)... I consider myself fairly laid back and relaxed but I also love to explore and certainly have that travel bug that makes me want to seek out adventure and new experiences. At the same time, I am extremely dedicated to the students I have known for the past 9 years through my work with the "I Have a Dream" Foundation - New York ( I would love to explore the world but I wouldn't exchange the experiences I've had with my friends, colleagues, and students in NYC over the past decade for anything.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surf and host occasionally. Definitely like the opportunity to meet people from everywhere and share experiences, stories, and ideas.


Well back in 2008 I tried out couchsurfing for the first time near Savannah Georgia and honestly was shocked that people were ready to open up their home to me. And not only open up there home, but show me a great time too!

I have hosted folks in NYC and love to meet people from varying backgrounds and experiences. The diversity in our world is amazing.

I was able to couchsurf throughout Mexico and Central america during a motorcycle journey as far south as Nicaragua. I met so many wonderful people and would love the chance to go back.


Recentely, after growing up in Boston and living in NYC, I've acquired a desire to know more about how to provide the basics of life without as much reliance on modern amenities. I'm not completely clueless (have spent my share of time camping, planting some vegetables here and there, etc) but would definitely like to expand my knowledge. Recently built a chicken coup up in Boston so I'm getting there! :)

Other interests include exploring, meeting people and sharing stories, playing just about any sport, board games, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hard to say what is amazing. I just try to take in everything that is around me. Sometimes we have to stop and appreciate the 'smaller' things in life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Definitely want to learn about anything and everything there is out there. Right now I'm into practicing spanish and take any opportunity to speak. Hablas espanol?

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups