Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Teacher
  • Studying Teaching
  • From Melbourne
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Taking a break from travelling over the next few years until I finish University. But once I'm done looking to travel around the world for 3 years and am always looking for new people to meet and to learn about new places to travel to
Can host people at times but all depends on my uni schedule and where I am at any given time

ABOUT ME
My name I Matt I am currently 24 years old and love to explore the world and meet new people. I have been very lucky in my life to be able to plenty of travelling and have experienced many cultures and civilizations. Here in Melbourne I'm currently studying teaching and am in my final couple of years of travel
I love cooking and also learning how to cook new dishes from across the globe. Very friendly, open and easy to get along with, I talk a lot so forewarning there I will be chatty with you if/when your here. Always up for a beer and a night out and am very familiar with the best bars and clubs in the city. I love to get out of the city and drive down to the coast for a surf (particularly down towards the great ocean road and Phillip island).

PHILOSOPHY

Enjoy travelling and make as many friends across the globe as possible, only live once! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I do have a place and a couch to crash on, I live with 2 other housemates but they're very friendly and open (1 is American as well). I'm always happy to have people crash/have dinner or drinks together or meet up with people in the city for a night out but it all depends around my university sadly, that's gotta come first, so just send me a message and let me know when your coming and I'll get back to you within 24hrs about whether I'm available

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couched surfed around Europe and the US, yes we've all had bad ones and yes we probably regret them, however the bad ones have turned out to be great stories and the good ones are life long memories

Interests

I love sports, AFL, Soccer, Surfing, Basketball. But that's not all of who I am I'm not just some jock.
I love to cook for people and just listen to people and their stories. I talk a lot but I find that just listening to people and learning about them is one of my strengths

  • cooking
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • surfing
  • sports
  • basketball
  • soccer
  • netball
  • solo travel
  • adventure travel
  • budget travel
  • travelling

Music, Movies, and Books

Sadly I was never blessed with the ability to read many books I tend to just drift out and never be able to finish them. However I do make an exception for the Lonely Planet series.
Music, I love everything I'm very easy when it comes to that
Movies, love the Blues Brothers and Taken great stuff!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been very blessed with a couple of travel happy parents and as such I've been to over 50 coutries, the best trip however was last year riding a motorbike from Shanghai over central Asia and the Caucus into Europe before it broke down in Belarus :P
I've been chased by snow leopards
Wrongfully Arrested at the Vatican
Broken Bones
Climbed Mauna Kea, Villarica, Etna
Crossed Bolivia's Salt Flats
Inca Trail
Annapurna Circuit
GR 10 & 20
Lycian Way
Kungsleden
Surfed Pipeline

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, France, Georgia, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!