Max Karjalainen's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Max’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 65 References 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, German, Swedish; learning Arabic, Russian
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Exchange programme in Munich 2012-2013, Espoo 2014-2015
  • Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering with German
  • From Mariefred
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To help people out. For me is it the most important thing to see when people appriciate my help.

ABOUT ME

I'm 24 years old and growned up in Sweden, though my parents are born in Finland. In early ages I havn't have the possibilities to travel much. But now I've found interest for travelling and learning languages. My time and economy has been much better, so now I take the chance to discovery what the world has to offer. I heard about couchsurfing from a friend and was really interested to try this out. Not because of free accommodation, but to meet locals, which can show you places you never knew you was interested about and which tourists never have chance to see.

One of really great thing I ever owned is a bike. I really like my bike. With a bike you can go anywhere, skip queues and so on. I try to take the bike to my school as much as possible. When the summer is here, be prepared for a bike tour if you are visiting me. But now I don't have a bike :(

At the moment I'm studying Applied Physics with Electrical Engineering with german at Linköping University. From August 2012-July 2013 I were in Munich, Germany. From September 2014 to May 2015 I'm making another exchange in Espoo, Finland.

At Technische Universität München I were studying Electrical Engineering and taking some language courses in german, arabic and russian. In german I reached C1 level and now aiming for C2. So if you can speak german, then write to me in german please :). I really would like to take some courses in finnish cause I really need to learn how to write. It's easier to speak for me.

By the way! My dad is collecting different money from all over the world (banknotes, value doesn't matter, but NOT coins though), so if you can, would be great if you could change it with me! Doesn't matter if it's new, old, updated or outdated. Okey, maybe not Euro! Hopefully can I collect it from you. Would be awesome! :)

PHILOSOPHY

Live life and help people out. Sharing experience with people from abroad and other, with totally different culture comparing from what I have been growing up with.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Heard about couchsurfing from a friend and want to try it by myself. I usually travel alone cause sometimes I can change my mind very quick. Then it's best to be alone. But I also like to meet traveller to hang out with.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm starting to understand what it's all about and how much left I have to discover.

Interests

Travelling and visit new places in the world. Language, cultural exchange.

Karate has been something I really like. It has been a part of making me till the person I'm today. I started training 2004 until 2010. Then I took a break cause I started university. From 2014 I've started again.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • engineering
  • languages
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

Books? Personally I can't find interest by reading a book :D
Music - My favorite artist is Unheilig. A german singer. Check out him here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPzDDMh4BNo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGrPaVZH4mE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YOovPkiMrk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZejFxTgP8QM

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Road trip from Turku (Finland) to Moskau (Russia) with a bus full of students.
-Living one whole summer in Helsinki. It was amazing which you can't describe with words or pictures.
-Living in a foreign country
-Swimming in the Arctic ocean
-Husky ride in Finnish Lappland.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach (and at the same time learn myself) about swedish culture, finnish culture. I can also cook for you, or we could cook together? Why not some basic moves in karate, or just to count to 10 in finnish? :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

An air mattress and a place to stay for a couple of days. If I have time I would like to show you around.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Monaco, Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Germany, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Max’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups