Maxim Klimov's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maxim’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English, German, Latvian, Norwegian Bokmål, Swedish; learning Spanish
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Life explorer, impressions collector, amateur sport and l...
  • Hi-temp plasma and Thermo -Nuclear physics - researcher, ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a cosmopolitan traveler. Born in Russia and lived, studied and worked in Germany, Latvia and Norway for 2-8 years each country. I was bitten by a travel bug in my childhood by parents and since that I visited 96 countries (as per 2023). Like to be outdoors - camping, hiking, trailrunning, open-water swimming and bike touring. Was a semi-professional weightlifter, amateur rock climber and mountaineer. Speak four languages but willing to learn more as it is an essential part to understand the culture and heritage.

https://www.instagram.com/maxim1984/

Would be grateful to be your guest and to host you in my 3-bedroom apartments on the shore of Baltic Sea.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

After decades of years traveling and backpacking via booking, airbnb and private accommodation by friends and relatives, understood that people are the most valuable part of any place! CS makes such a huge step to contribute to our impressions while hosting and travelling! And yes, most valuable things in life - are not the things!
Trying to add my small part to this great CS world community!

Interests

  • running
  • reading
  • cycling
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • biking
  • climbing
  • trailrunning
  • community
  • equality
  • foodsharing
  • sustainable life

Music, Movies, and Books

Let's say I'm too old, so I caught up such rising stars like Eminem and Britney Spears!). Personally prefer intelligent electronics. It could be a long list, so will mention just few: Massive Attack, CocoRosie, Depeche Mode, Four Tet, Bicep, Burial etc...

Reading)... Let's see.. Apart from professional literature, language learning books, traveling manuals and Wikipedia articles, I read mostly biographies, political and social non-fiction (Max Weber, Noam Chomsky).

My traditional literature collection includes books by Umberto Eco, Sir Arthur Doyle, Jo Nesby, Dan Brown, Leo Tolstoy, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Carlos Castaneda. Great fan of Dune!)

Movies... don't have enough time to follow, but let's say prominent film festival shots I will try not to miss. Tim Burton, Robert Zemeckis, Andrei Zvyagintsev, Kubrick, Scott, Nolan...

This is just a glance - stay wide opened to something new!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Started living my own life!

Teach, Learn, Share

As an athlete, entrepreneur, traveler I can share experience, but oversensitively curios, eager to know more about this unique world!

Will be more than happy to practice Spanish, German or one of Nordic languages.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Everything you need - from physical help, housekeeping and light repairs to language and natural sciences tutoring, food cooking and everyday assistance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cabo Verde, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, England, Faroe Islands, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Russian Federation, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Ukraine, Virgin Islands, British

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Latvia, Norway, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Maxim’s full profile.