Mariela Malanij

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariela’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Freelance English-Spanish professional translator. http:/...
  • Bachelor's Degree in Translation, with a major in legal t...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


***Still trying to catch up with my reference-writing*** Defining my own road in life.


When I signed up in 2009, this section read "I'm a perfectionist trying to care less about the things that do not really matter and embrace life as it comes (as you can imagine, it is not easy)." I would not say "mission accomplished" yet, but I am getting there. I have relaxed a lot over the past few years and broadened my vision of the world in many ways and CS has a lot to do with that change.

In 2010, I travelled across the Americas, from Buenos Aires to USA and loved it, every single aspect of the experience. It has changed me significantly (the people I have met) and would love to repeat the experience some day.

I'm a translator by profession but a traveller at heart. And not just any traveller, I'm an ambitious one. As a child, I dreamt of growing up and seeing every single inch of the world through my own eyes. Now that I'm 33 I have narrowed my dream a little bit but still wanna see the most before I die.

I'm sort of a "walking compass" and highly skilled at interpreting maps. This has proven to be quite an asset for travelling around the world for I can easily find my way almost anywhere (to this day, I have never got lost).

I love discovering new cultures, meeting new people, speaking new languages, listening to new ideas, trying new foods, seeing the world through somebody else's eyes and, more importantly, making new friends.

I'm always looking forward to my next trip (looks I can hardly wait to get out of the city).

I love music, movies, a good icecream and the company of good deer friends. I'm also fond of animals and nature, especially dogs and mountain lakes. If you are lucky and love dogs, you may get to know our dog, "Clarita" who lives with us part-time (she spends most of the time at my mother's). I really enjoy being outdoors (trekking and sailing are my favourite activities).

I'm a really lucky person for I've been blessed with the love of the most amazing man ever, Palolo (also a CS member), and we've been happy together for the past 8+ years.

I do know my way around the kitchen but, in all honesty, I don't like cooking very much (Palolo does most of the cooking at home). Nevertheless, I love eating.


I am trying to take life not so seriously, laugh a lot more and look on the bright side of things. Although I no longer consider myself a perfectionist, I despise people who are not fully committed to what they do and do not care about the outcome. I think you have to do things right, from the beginning, and take responsibility for your actions. I think being on the road and living abroad has helped me relaxed a lot and grow as an individual (I no longer worry for the stupid things I used to and appreciate, respect and celebrate the fact that we are all different). Prefer good, intelligent conversation over dinner to clubbing like crazy all night long.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We have a double couch at home you can enjoy whenever you visit BA. Just make sure to let us know in advance.
Everyone is welcome. Just bear in mind we don't smoke, don't do drugs, don't drink heavily, don't party like animals and we try our bests to keep our small home as tidy as possible. We hope you help us keep it that way. PLEASE MAKE SURE TO USE THE COUCH REQUEST FORM TO REQUEST FOR ACCOMODATION. I DO NOT ANSWER PRIVATE MESSAGES.


I have been couchsurfing for four years now, both surfing and hosting. It has simply changed my life. I have met some of my fondest friends through CS, no matter how far away we live from each other or how often (or not) we can meet. It has been an awesome journey so far and I have learned something from each single experience.

Though I don't mind the comforts of fancy hotels, now I would not travel if I can't couchsurf. It's become a part of me: meeting new people, staying up with locals, getting to know them and their families in their homes, sharing their experiences, culture, points of view, food... I would not trade it for anything in the world.

If you haven't surfed, you do not know what you are missing.
visited 22 states (9.77%)Create your own visited map of The World or jurisdische veraling duits?


Travelling, experiencing different foods and cultures, learning new languages, meeting new people. I also like reading, watching movies, listening to music (especially live), photography, sailing, nature, outdoor activities, science, ballet, maps, optimization and process improvement, ... (the list gets longer as time goes by.)

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I definitely love music, specially the 80's and hard rock and heavy metal bands. In my collection you can find excellent pop, jazz, rock and classical music, from Michael Bublé to Judas Priest to INXS to Bach to my beloved Bon Jovi. Plus, I love going to gics.

Movies: I love watching a good movie. I'm not pretentious: a good plot and rythim will immediately catch my attention. My favorite genre is thrillers.

Lately I have also became a fan of some TV shows like The Big Bang Theory and The Good Wife and also documentaries. I also have some all-time favorites like Law and Order, McGyver.

Books: I need to find a book to read that will keep me entertained for a while. I am an avid reader and the lack of a good book to read keeps me up at night. Some of my favorite books are Intermitencias de la muerte, by José Saramago, La casa de los espíritus, by Isabel Allende, and The Martian Chronicles, by the great Ray Bradbury.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Many things but, to this day, swimming with dolphins and sea turtles ranks first.

Teach, Learn, Share

"So, what do you want to do with your life?"
"You should be a lawyer, a doctor, an accountant, a consultant... blah, blah, blah."
Everywhere you turn people try to tell you who to be and what to do with your life. We call that The Noise. Block it. Shed it. Leave it for the conformists. As a generation, we need to get back to focusing on individuality. Self-construction rather than mass production. Define your own road in life instead of traveling down someone else's. Listen to yourself. Your road is the Open Road. Find it. Find the Open Road.

This is the Roadtrip Nation's manifesto and I agree with it 100%. Roadtrip Nation is another great project I highly encourage you to check out (

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariela’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups