Michelle Birnie

San Francisco, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Inventory planning for a clothing retailer...it's cooler ...
  • Economics degree from UC Berkeley
  • From northern California, US
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me


to be forever curious and forever discovering


I live and work in San Francisco. I enjoy traveling and I'm currently planning my next big trip. Yay Iceland! It'll be my first time traveling solo, so if you have any wisdom on traveling alone I'd love to hear it.

I'm new to the couchsurfing community, and I'm excited to try such an amazing new way of travelling. My brother & his wife have couchsurfed on trips to Europe, Egypt, & Japan, and they tell such wonderful stories about the people they've met through CS that I thought I'd give it a try during my upcoming Iceland trip. I would love to meet up with CSers while I'm in Iceland and (hopefully!) stay with a host in Reykjavik. Definitely feel free to contact me if you'd like to meet up between Jul 16 - Jul 25!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'd love to meet interesting people in & around SF, and meet new people and potentially couchsurf on future trips. Unfortunately I'm not able to offer my own couch at the moment, but someday I'd like to try that too!


Reading books of all types, browsing used book stores, exploring new cities, discovering new and fun things in familiar cities, spending time outdoors (especially in the summertime!), trying new beers, cooking, gardening, and spending way too much money at the farmer's market

Teach, Learn, Share

A few areas where I could talk for hours...
* gardening
* the card game "Set" (it's so fun!)
* corporate finance

What I'd love to learn...
* new recipes and styles of cooking
* other people's history and culture
* Excel tricks (I totally geek out over Excel!)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Costa Rica, France, Ireland, Italy, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups