Matt Fraser's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile.


  • 117 references 98 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Korean, Norwegian Bokmål
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • QHSE Consultant
  • Anthropology & Psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Greetings Couchsurfers! I'm Matt. I'm from Nova Scotia and recently moved to Vancouver. I worked for 16 years in Asia and the Middle East.

When you visit my home you are welcome to do your own thing, or socialize. We can watch movies, play music, have drinks, BBQ, anything you like.

But i'm not running a hotel... so, if yer arriving late to airport I probably will decline.

My house is in Burnaby, pretty close to Metrotown. Plenty of transportation and big parks nearby.

If I can’t host you, you can still ask me for information about Vancouver, Canada and living/working in East Asia.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Hosting and CouchSurfing is a great way to meet like-minded people. I like to help people getting to get to know Canada and just to make life easier for travelers.


  • music festivals
  • wine
  • drinking
  • movies
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • history
  • hitchhiking
  • historic sites
  • travel
  • party
  • asian food

Music, Movies, and Books

Cat Clyde, Folk, Blues, Punk, Reggae, Classical, PJ Harvey, Jimmy Hendrix, Ministry, The Rolling Stones, Ramones, Johnny Cash, Surrealist Films, Psycho-dramas.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Slept with a family in the jungle in Borneo and met wild Orangutan.
Ate camel with Bedoins in the Arabian desert.
Chilled with monkeys in Japanese hotsprings.
Hung out with reindeer herders in the Arctic.
Walked through poppy fields in the Golden Triangle

Teach, Learn, Share

Guitar, language...

What I Can Share with Hosts

My home, laughs, good times, a few drinks, coffee...

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Malaysia, Mexico, Norway, Oman, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile.