Matthew Smithdeal

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student
  • Workng on Masters
  • From Pinnacle, NC, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me




I'm working on a masters in philosophy at the University of British Columbia. I haven't had much time for travel since I've been working a full time and part time job simultaneously over the last year. I've been in Vancouver since mid-August and am still very much exploring the city myself, but am absolutely in love with it. I don't get as much time as I'd like because of my coursework.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I haven't had much opportunity to host people because I haven't lived in a very busy travel location in the past. So, I'm excited to be able to open up my home in Vancouver and hopefully will finally be able to host people. I extensively couchsurfed in Europe a few summers ago (see CouchSurfing experience) and am really hoping to be able to be able to better experience the couchsurfing community in a larger city.


I studied abroad in Prague a few summers ago and I couchsurfed around almost everywhere I went while I traveled for the rest of the summer. I met a lot of fantastic hosts and never had a negative experience. This service has been such a useful tool for finding great and interesting people in all sorts of cities and I've learned much more about the city, area, and people everywhere I couchsurf.


I grew up in a restaurant and, while I have no desire to work in food service as a career, I absolutely adore cooking and learning new techniques/recipes.
I love meeting new people and having new experiences. Experiences are the fundamental elements of life.
I spend a lot of time in coffee shops, reading, exploring, and watching movies.

Music, Movies, and Books

There are entirely too many books to list a favorite. I also don't believe in favorites. I read a lot of Russian lit, French works, Southern lit and post-modern lit. Some of my favorite authors include Faulkner, Cormac McCarthy, Moliere, Bernhard, Delilo, Tolstoy and Nabokov.

Movies: Cheesy slashers, French new-wave and a soft spot for Mae West.

Music: I go in phases. Currently I'm listening to a lot of cold-wave and 80s. I'm also finding myself listening to a lot of modern classical. I also fell in love with mnml techno in Berlin.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seen the Pope, toured the Vatican, Museet Moderna in Stockholm, Melt Music Festival near Dessau, Germany, visiting the Louvre, studying in Prague

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Czech Republic

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!