Kristianne Hendricks

Surrey, British Columbia, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristianne’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Full time mom, Full time student :)
  • Working on a MA in Geography, looking at people and ports.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

***I don't check the email associated with this account very often, and as a result don't see last minute couch requests, my apologies! ****


My mission... to prove that limited means don't have to equal limited dreams.


We live in an amazing world, full of incredible people, and I want to see all of it! I'm quite optimistic, and see the good in everyone, both to a fault at times. I have three amazing kids and hope that I am able to raise them to share my passion for people and life.

My oldest daughter is 8. She's unpredictable, and will be shy or very outgoing depending on her mood at the moment. She says she doesn't like school, but her teachers tell me otherwise, and she's recently become an avid reader.

My middle child is 6, and has a heart of gold, but also a very stubborn streak. She loves to cuddle, and loves to colour or draw

My youngest little man will be 6 in November, and he's through and through a mama's boy. If he had his way, he would survive off of oranges and candy.

I'm a people person, and love all things about different cultures and people. I'm blown away by the amazing experiences I've had in my life, and feel so blessed by them, especially the fact that I've been able to return to school as a single mom, and that I've been able to travel to so many places with my children. I also love classical music and play the trumpet (not professionally at all! lol), and have recently begun weight training in the gym which has proven to be a lot of fun!


My motto in high school was 'there is no such thing as normal'... I see every day as a new adventure and a blessing, and strive to remain positive in any and every setting.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've surfed and I've hosted, and then a living arrangement change caused couchsurfing to take a backseat. My life is always changing though, and now it's looking like I'll be able to host again, yeaah!


I've surfed with several different families in Europe, and had an incredible time with all of them. I think couchsurfing may have turned me off of hotels forever, as it is just so much more enjoyable to spend the evening with new friends than at a hotel!
We've also hosted a few surfers, and so far it has been a most enjoyable experience! The children love having a friend to stay with us, and they've been asking when our next couchsurfer will come. :) We also like looking at the maps on our wall and talking about where our friends live, and where we want to visit.


Free time? What's that??? LOL... I love to read, scrapbook, travel, explore new places, try new things, meet new people... Intellectual conversation is a treat :)

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm not big on movies that have sex & violence without relevance to the plot line, but beyond that, I'm really open to anything. Some of my favorites are "Bleu", "Moulin Rouge", and "the Sound of Music", which makes me realize that the music in a movie plays in important part for me!
Speaking of music, I love it all. There are songs from every genre that I don't appreciate, but I listen to different things all the time, from various world music to gregorian chant to pop music to south east asian to... you get the point!
Books are amazing, and I love reading. I'd love to have a library in my house one day, but for now, most of my reading is for the purpose of researching the papers that I'm writing.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing was hands-down delivering my son by myself before my midwife arrived, but that might not appeal to some people ;)
So, the second most amazing thing was driving from Ontario to Vancouver with just myself and three kids, who were 6 months, 2 and 4 at the time. We saw amazing things, and it gave me an incredible sense of empowerment, that I had control over the direction of my life, and didn't need to let circumstance dictate what I can or cannot do. Backpacking in Europe with my three children when they were 2,4 and 6 was also pretty incredible, and we met the most wonderful people!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm presently studying ports and people in my Masters program, and I've recently completed a BA in sociology/anthropology student with a minor in geography and a focus on Latin America, so I suppose i might have a few insights in those areas if you're not familiar with them... I could tell you about being a single parent, and the things that surround parenthood. Want to know about breastfeeding or pregnancy & births, midwives and natural births in Canada? I can share :)
I like scrapbooking, and while I'm no expert, I'm happy to share my creative streak... I'm working towards Spanish fluency, and plan to add French to that soon, so if you're of either of those languages and want to practice your English, I can help there.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristianne’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups