Marie-Helene Basque's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie-Helene’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Portuguese, Russian, Spanish
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Stay-at-home-mom
  • Bachelor's degree in ESL teaching (English as a second la...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*** PLEASE NOTE: I will be travelling with the whole family between May 2022 and May 2023; we have been working on this family travel gap year for almost 6 years, and we are finally doing it! So not hosting during this period, sorry! ;)***

The first thing I will say about myself is that I am very blessed since I found my soulmate (Jack) at age 16, we've been together ever since and have 4 wonderful children! :)

I used to be a teacher, but I have made the choice to stay at home with the kids and our lives have been a lot less stressful and a lot simpler since then. It also made me realise that I needed creativity and freedom too much in my life to spend it in a classroom or an office...

I do think I am an artist at heart, and I particularily enjoy the culinary arts. I even do chocolate paintings :)

I also enjoy sports a lot, and I recently discovered rugby and totally fell in love with it! I even started a Club in my hometown (where rugby was practically non-existent)

I absolutely love travelling, even though it's hard to find time, opportunities, and money with 4 kids... but apart from the births of my kids, the most memorable and soul-filling moments of my life always happened while travelling, and some of the greatest souls we've met were the couchsurfers we hosted

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As a family of 6 living on one salary we have to be resourceful to find the means to travel a little... And I must admit that I find the couch surfing concept Genius! What better way to enjoy a new place than to share with locals! :) I don't even know why I have waited so long to "create" my profile. (joined in 2009 but created my profile in August 2015)... I guess I was too busy with kids to think about travelling! ;) And even though I thought nobody would ever want to come to our little town in the middle of nowhere, we ended up hosting a few couchsurfers throughout the years and all of them were wonderful, and these experiences proved to be very positive for the whole family who got to meet people from different backgrounds and sometimes speaking different languages... The kids are ecstatic now when we tell them we will be hosting someone! :)

Interests

Sports, movies, cooking...

  • arts
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • movies
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • rugby

Music, Movies, and Books

Too long to enumerate!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Giving birth, and helping other women giving birth (I am a trained doula - Google it! ;) )

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very open-minded and love to share with different people; we all have something to learn from others...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, jokes, meals, plans... I guess it's never a fixed thing... I would go with the flow...

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, England, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Malta, Namibia, South Africa, Turkey, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie-Helene’s full profile.