Megan Willy's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Megan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Graduate student
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

travel and explore! see beautiful places and meet other wonderful people

ABOUT ME

I'm an independent mixed media artist and cultural anthropologist. I have been teaching English in Concepción, Chile for the past 7 years. Now I teach online English classes and am a full-time graduate student at Parsons in NYC.

PHILOSOPHY

I let opportunities arise and take advantage as they come. I think exploration and freedom are keys to keeping my life full and interesting. I respect and can see relevance in most everyone's worldview. If I have something I want to do or achieve, I go for it passionately.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed a few times and would like to host more in the future. So far, CS has been a great way to meet people in Chile.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I stayed with a delightful couple a few years ago near Joshua Tree Park, California. It was a time I will never forget! The boys were extremely friendly and interesting (the first time I tried stilting!) and I saw just how awesome Couch Surfing can be.

Living in Concepción, I'd met some of the Conce CouchSurfing crew. They are some of the nicest people I know! I really feel this is a wonderful organization and am endlessly thankful for the contacts I've made through it.

Interests

cooking, baking, eating, traveling, stilt-walking, visiting with friends, working on personal art projects, meeting new interesting people, outdoor activities, speaking Spanish, watching old movies, playing with my kitten Penelope, art (especially animation and abstract arts), exploring abandoned buildings, listening to music and going to shows, attending cultural events (parades, festivals, farmer's market, etc.)

  • arts
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • baking
  • walking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • animation
  • anthropology
  • communications
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

All types! currently reading a Herman Hess novel and appreciating his timeless insight in artists of all kinds and personalities

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Only one thing? Hmm...

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a super kind, patient, and encouraging English teacher. I'm dedicated and caring and I think that's what counts. I am pretty computer-savvy (not a programer, but better than most) and I can animate with various programs in various medias.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My buena onda :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Italy, Mexico, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Megan’s full profile.

My Groups