Logo orange

Margherita Giordano

Rome, Lazio, Italy

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Margherita's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 32 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Researcher - PM
  • MA Development Economics
  • From Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travel as much as I can while helping people in improve their wellbeing and achieve my dreams

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a little wonderful village in the Italian's Alps. Then, in the past 6 years I moved to different places both in Italy and abroad. I am currently living in Lima, doing my MA thesis.

I am an active and curious person who never stops - I am talkative and a good listener and I love learning new things and be surprised by people. I like share my life with friends and know new cultures and people. I like cooking and I love cook with people and for people - it keep me calm, happy, and smiling.
Sometimes I also like to relax, cycle, write and take my own time.
I try to keep my impact on our earth as low as I can, we have to preserve her! :)
I am found of Photography. Indeed, reportage photography let me know more and more people and their histories while taking my time for shooting - the perfect harmony!

PHILOSOPHY

"Dies slowly he who transforms himself in slave of habit,
repeating every day the same itineraries,
who does not change brand,
does not risk to wear a new colour and doesn't talk to whom doesn't know....
Dies slowly he who does not travel, does not read,
does not listen to music, who does not find grace in himself....
Dies slowly he who abandons a project before starting it,
who does not ask over a subject that does not know
or who does not answer when being asked about something he knows....
Let's avoid death in soft quotes,
remembering always that to be alive demands an effort much bigger
that the simple fact of breathing."
[Pablo Neruda]

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

CS is a fantastic project in order to meet new people and cultures from all over the world, visit new places and share experiences.
I am in love with CS since the first time I tried it!

create your own visited country map

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Give hospitality to people is a wonderful experience and I tried it when I hosted, with my flatemates and alone, different kind of people.
I hope to have as soon as possible a place I can call home and a beautiful colored couch where you can crash on :)

I think that surf a couch is a amazing experience and it allow you to see a place from a direct and interesting view. It is not about being a tourist. Instead, though CS, you can be a traveller, and a part the place where you are. The best experience I had ever was in Argentina with Romi, Tere, Santi and Mati, who became a family for me.

Interests

I love life, Nature (especially mountains, which remember me at the same time home and the Pachamama), colors.
Life should be full of nature and colors, as the mix of these two elements gives me energy!
I love travel (by buses and hitchhiking better than by plane) photography (reportage and social photography) international development matters (rural and urban development, food security, organic agriculture), cooking (every kind of food! If you want to teach me your favorite dish I would be happy :) ) dancing (I love latin ritms), have a good (italian)coffee/mate with friends, going to concerts (with friends), listening poems, volunteering (in projects related to social inclusion and local development or environment issues).

I like flowers (especially liliums), coffe's aroma, running under the summer rain, swim in the mountains's rivers, drawing on the wall, having a breakfast in the bed, going to local organic market (touching every kind of fruits and vegetables), smelling the hot bread's fragrance in the early morning when everything is still close, get up early to watch the sunrise, breathing while seeing the sunset.

Music, Movies & Books

I love like reading books and poetry and my favourite authors are: isabella allende, sepulveda, marquez, calvino, hikmet, neruda, pasolini, elsa morante, galeano.
I am found of music, in particular folk music. I love go to live concert and I love the poet and musician Fabrizio De Andrè!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The first time I had my niece in my arms (I cried!).
The Andes and the Lake Titicaca.
Hitch-hiking alone in Argentina, knowing wonderful and open minded people.
Seeing Stockholm in the early morning from a boat.
Having a dog.
Decide to go to Bolivia only as I was close by the border and I want to be guided by my emotions, without a map neither a guide.
Staying in a squat in Tallin and cook a carbonara pasta for around 40 people.
The armory of staying with my family and friends.
Leave a part of my heart in different part of the world and feeling I have a lot of families.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to learn other languages (actually, i would like to learn portoguese!), how to cook dishes from different places, photography's skills, dancing and juggling.
In exchange, i can share my knowledge in italian and spanish and how to cook italian delicious dishes. And well, maybe you will find out that I can teach you something that I still do not know I am able to teach :)

I am a really curious person and I always want to learn new skills and things, so I would also be happy just to share moments with you. I am sure that from our's personal stories we can already learn a lot from each other.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Lebanon, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Margherita's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile