Meike Hammer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Meike’s full profile.

Overview

  • 30 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Veterinarian
  • University of Leipzig, Germany
  • From Dorsten, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

On the move...

ABOUT ME

Hi!
My name is Meike. I grew up in the small city of Dorsten in West Germany.
After completion of my studies in veterinary medicine in Leipzig (East Germany), I was working close to Frankfurt, then moved to Zurich, Switzerland, for 2.5 years and worked the last 3.5 years in Bordeaux, France, completing a specialisation in small animal surgery.

Due to my study, I am really interested in all kinds of natural sciences, animals and nature. I love to experience new cities by bike and spending time outside.

During my school time, I did competitive figure skating and ice-dancing, so I also enjoy all kinds of sports (dancing, running, obstacle run, cycling, badminton ... I can be a real bundle of energy). During my studies, I became an admirer of the opera and ballet. Last year I discovered trail running and obstacle runs, which became my new challenge.

PHILOSOPHY

A wrong reaction is better than no reaction.

I always set high goals for myself and try to give 100%.

I love the multiculturalism in my home area and this is why I enjoy meeting people from all over the world no matter where they are from or which education they have. I always try to be open-minded for everything new. I am happy that I already met so great personalities in my life just by chance.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I made so great friends via couchsurfing, who still remember my birthday and send me cards from all over the world. That is really amazing!
When I moved to Bad Soden, I also couch surfed in a nearby town, just to meet new people :-P

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Thanks to my previous hosts, everyone did a great job: Picking organic strawberries and swimming in a lake in the middle of nowhere in Ontario, sleeping on a comfy yellow leather couch, playing soccer, dancing salsa and Zumba, eating homemade apple cake and having hours of talk.
In Leipzig, I lived in a flatshare for 5 years and had flatmates from Ireland, Netherlands, Belgium, as well as from Germany. As I lived myself abroad and struggling with the language, I know what it feels like when you are new to a country and need some help.

Interests

On the one hand, I can be a real bundle of energy, but I also like to be a couch potato once in a while :-P
Besides sports, culture and nature I love chocolate and I enjoy baking. I like it to give somebody a pleasant surprise by baking them a cake.
I love meeting new people, watching thunderstorms, dancing, smiling at people, restless feet, lying on the gras

  • chocolate
  • sports
  • ice skating

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: comedies (Keinohrhasen, Rubbeldiekatz), crime fiction, thriller (127 hours), drama (a beautiful mind, chocolate)...the only thing I really dislike are horror movies
Music: A great mixture of pop, R&B, a bit of Hip Hop, classic, rock, soundtracks...
Books: I honestly don't read any books except for baking books and professional literature if I have to!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The people I met via couchsurfing!!!
My trip through Israel, Canada, and Florida.
My figure skating and ice-dancing career during my schooltime.

Teach, Learn, Share

You never stop learning!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories and cake

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Myanmar, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Meike’s full profile.

My Groups