Melanie Blainey's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • GCSE's, A-levels
  • From England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Back in Australia for a second working holiday. Currently living in Geelong.

ABOUT ME

My name is Melanie and I'm 25 years old. I'm from a small county in the south of England called Dorset - I grew up there and loved it! A stones throw away from beautiful beaches and surrounded by lovely countryside. I have 6 siblings (2 of them are step) but I love being the middle child and have been blessed as we all get on so well. When I was about 19 I moved to Bath, a beautiful historic town, and started to work and save money. I lived with Rebecca and when she said she wanted to travel too I was delighted, it's been my life-long dream and its finally happening!
We left England for the first time in April 2013 - travelled North America, Fiji and New Zealand. Then from July 2013 we were in Australia, Sydney for a few weeks then it was Western Australia for the rest of our working holiday visas. We worked on a dairy farm for 5.5 months, a different experience, but we loved it. Physically demanding, and definitely character building... We were lucky to meet some great people.
We then moved to Margaret River, WA, where we both worked on a resort for the next 6 months, earning some money to fund the rest of our adventure. We met a great Canadian couple who we travelled Vietnam with, then left them for two weeks seeing the highlights of Cambodia. A few weeks in Indonesia then back to see the East Coast of Australia from Cairns to Melbourne - it exceeded our expectations and we had an incredible time. Back to South East Asia: a week in Thailand then Laos, Myanmar and lastly incredible India - an amazing place that I'd love to return to!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Had a few experiences in the US and all were great. Especially the Rice family in Woodland near Vancouver, the best 2 days so far - they took us hiking to see Mt St Helen's, fly fishing and really welcomed us into their home!
Also couchsurfed in New Zealand where we joined in a family party, got a personal tour of the Auckland museum, DJ'd in a bar and shared lots of great cooking, all thanks to couchsurfing.
In Sydney we stayed with a great guy who let us look after his apartment and car while he went away for a week!

Interests

Travelling of course, reading, I've been skiing ever since I was small and hope to continue as I have a passion for it, listening to music, good food and wine, long chats with friends old and new! At school I enjoyed English, Psychology and Art and I think creativity is a refreshing part of life!

  • arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • partying
  • flying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • skydiving
  • skiing
  • psychology
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Love some laid back music most of the time but will always get up and dance to a good tune. Favourites at the moment James Blake, Little Dragon, Wild Belle, James Vincent McMorrow, Bastille, Frank Ocean, Alt-J, The XX, Xavier Rudd, London Grammar, Portishead, Myra Masa Childish Gambino, Tash Sultana and always Beyoncé!

Like to watch Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Modern Family, Homeland. A good action film will make me happy but will always watch a good comedy, thriller or animation!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mine is the Skydive I did in New Zealand, 16500ft over the Marlborough Sounds is quite a beautiful view and definitely a sensory overload!
Niagara Falls was a breathtaking wonder if the world everyone should see it!
Working on a Dairy Farm in Australia was character building to say the least, a great experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

Definitely here to learn as much as possible, I think we'd like to think we could teach people to have a bit of fun too!
I would like to learn how to play the guitar, speak another language, how to cook some interesting dishes, how to sail and lots more!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Dominican Republic, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!