Logo orange

Melanie Gutman

Malmo, Skane, Sweden

Maybe Accepting Guests

33% response rate · Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish, Swedish; learning Danish, French
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • preparing for writing my final thesi...
  • most recently lawschool, before that...
  • From Stockholm
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

I hope to one day work with something that I really care for like Womens right or ethics in relation to legislation. (I therefore studied law, and also did my internship at Womens international league for peace and security) I have also been living in Mexico City for a while doing some exchange studies over there. Back home in Malmö Sweden I am wrapping up all my years of Universitystudies and hopefully sooner or later get a chance to work with what I believe in, although writing a thesis turned out to be such a hard thing to get through- I am really struggling with it so to say.

Some years ago I saw the Iguazu falls and I felt very amazed by the greatness of the nature, I guess I am that kind of person that loves to get exited and finds excitement in a lot of things.

I also love to experiment with food, or more to create food and make new recepies or prepare for parties or dinners, I have started up a local branch of the worldwide food-circle called LATITUDE which now have more then 200 members in Malmö and Lund and always is great fun!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I live in an apartment together with my boyfriend and we have a small spare bed in the livingroom for friends/family/guests from time to time. However, these days I use the livingroom as my office so I wont be able to have people there since I need full access to the room and freedom not to be disturbed. I am sorry for this. I do not like to disappoint people but until I hand this thesis in I wont host anyone so no need to send me any request.

Interests

add colour to everydaylife by enjoying also the small things as
smallscale gardening in my windows
picking wild flowers
have picnics
catch marvelous wiews
biking by the trees
walking in the rain
collecting beautiful things
buy postcard with interesting portraits of women in every museum of art that i visit
watch a good play
order things in colour or with colour
baking cakes and cookies to my friends
cooking and inventing new recepies
eating on charming china
decorate
reading novels and poetry

but I must admit that I spend alot of time daydreaming and looking out from my window

also enjoy doing things I though I was afraid of - like riding a horse, ski from a high mountain

Music, Movies & Books

preferably at cinemas
preferably drama
- woody allen, tim burton, hayao miyazaki, almodovar, cassavetes, Kieślowski

kate bush, nina simone, cocorosie, joanna newsom, the shins, a camp, classical, regina spector, magnetic fields, wainwright marta and rufus, jenny lewis, frida hyvönen, feist, MIA, saint etienne, monica zetterlund, my favorite and much more

steppenwolf, wuthering heights etc. mostly reed in swedis so I dont know the titles of all my favorites. as you may have noticed from the above I have dyslexia which make it a lot of efford to read advanced litterature.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have a hard time deciding what to chose, might be Climbing Mt.fuji, Horsebackriding in the Andes, Snorkeling in the Caribbean, watching the sunset in Big Sur with friends on midsummer nights eve or simply enjoying one of those heavenly meals in a mexican foodmarket.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am interested in the idea of things and of human behavior, learning by exploring and investigating ideas also of learning new things in relation to handcraft .

What I Can Share With Hosts

I might not be able to answer emails and requests very frequently since I try to reduce my time in front of the computer and Internet.

However I do like the idea of couchsurfing and would be glad to host people every now and then- If you send a personal and specific request of wanting to share a certain experience and feel that we both can learn and appreciate each other company I might be more likely to make arrangements since our guestbed is often occupied of friends and family visiting already. Since I receive many requests from couch-surfing folks I would like to prioritize those who actually cared to read through my presentation and still thinks that we share values and interests- therefore please write either lemon meringue pie or cherry blossoms as a first word in correspondence with me!

Since life is changing, also ideas of what to do and how to adapt is changeable. Hope for your understanding of my impossibility to host from now and till the end of june!

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Mexico, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile