Melanie Frank's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Graduate Student
  • B.A. in Sociology, M.A. in Food Studies
  • From Houston, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To find the next city I will call home.

ABOUT ME

I'm currently living in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Someday I want to fix up an old airstream trailer to travel around in, but until then, I'll be couchsurfing. I've lived with lots of different people, including in a big co-op, which was a great adventure. I love adventures. I can't resist them.

PHILOSOPHY

I always find myself looking forward and thinking about what my next steps are going to be. I'm trying to focus more on the now.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm pretty new to this whole thing, but I've hosted a few times. Can't wait to do more traveling so I can get some surfing experience.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted several people and groups of people when I lived in a co-op in Bloomington, Indiana. We used to have bands come stay with us, and they'd have concerts in our living room. It was always a good time. Sometimes they left us little goodies on their way out of town--one of the best was a photo book of chicken breeds. It became a house favorite.

Interests

Generally, I like: road trips, hiking, swimming, cooking, gardening, studying food systems, animals, horseback riding, seeing new cities, learning homesteading skills, reading, doing crafts, board games, socio-cultural anthropology, foooood, watching movies,
More specifically, I like: making friends with a local when I'm in a new city so I can get an insider's perspective on the good places to go while I'm there. Studying the inequalities in the food system and working to create access to better, more sustainable food for all. Reading in bed on a rainy, cold day with a hot drink and my cat on my feet--in other words, being cozy.

  • animals
  • cats
  • books
  • concerts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • drinking
  • crafts
  • gardening
  • movies
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • homesteading
  • stamps
  • equestrian
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • anthropology
  • road trips

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Top 5 are Annie Hall, High Fidelity, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, the Breakfast Club, and Fame. Lots of Woody Allen, Robert Rodriguez, Danny Boyle, David Lynch. Love the X-Files, Twin Peaks. Can't resist a good zombie movie. Horror's good too. Could watch The Thing a thousand times.
Music: Changes all the time. Right now, The National, Joseph Arthur, Father John Misty, TV on the Radio, Brandi Carlile. Will always love Paul Simon, Joni Mitchell, and the Indigo Girls.
Books: The World According to Garp, Midnight's Children, One Hundred Years of Solitude. Anything by John Irving, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Barbara Kingsolver, Roald Dahl, Cormac McCarthy. Wendell Berry. Enjoy a good Stephen King once in a while.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

On a road trip from Indiana to Washington state, I was driving through Custer State Park in South Dakota and came upon a herd of wild burros. When I stopped to watch them, they came over to my car and surrounded it, jostling each other to get their furry noses in my open windows and nibble on bits of my car. All I could do was sit there, grinning, sneaking a nose rub here and there until they lost interest. Maybe not the most incredible thing in the world, but I was extremely pleased by the whole experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can milk a sheep and make some tasty cheese. I make lots of crafts, especially rubber stamps and stationary. I can cook, love to cook. I can show someone how to plant and maintain a garden. I can do basic mending.
I want to learn how to can tomatoes and how to grow broccoli, cauliflower, and cabbage successfully and without chemicals. I want to learn the basics of car maintenance, and really need to master Microsoft Excel.

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!