Melike Bal's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melike’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese, Turkish; learning Chinese (Simplified)
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Foreign Language Education
  • From Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently I am an exchange student living in Shizuoka,Japan.

I am always in love with what is different from what I have already had. It is a pleasure for me to try new things, talk with different people, read new books and explore even the smallest details as much as I can. Later, I started to study English which became my biggest tool, and enabled me to reach a new world that I couldn't even imagined. It was a great thing to be able to talk with people all around the world or read books, nees papers, watch movies among endless options. The more I witness the power of language, the more I fall in love with it. At university, I took my interest a step further and enrolled the foreign language education department to study more on language, linguistics and psychology . Apart from this, I started to learn Japanese and Chinese!🤓

Until I was 20 years old, I have travelled only within my country. I decided it is already time to go out and experience things on first hand, I went to China to attend a voluntary programme. I stayed there 3 months; it was a story with tears, anger and lots of other difficulties but eventually with a happy ending. It was the best thing I have ever done and shaped me as I am today 💕

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It is really easy to leave many little but worthful details unexplored while travelling within a limited time. That it is why I am couchsurfing, so that I would not be a "tourist" who travels to see famous attractions and takes photographs with them to share in Instagram but travel like an insider by sharing a cup of coffee or a lunch accompanying a delightful conversation with locals. I think it is the best way of visiting new places and having the most of it to discover and live the deeper sides of the places which I can only make with the help of local people ^^

Unfortunately, I can not host any guest as I am a student living in a share house 😢 However, I am always here to hangout with travellers🎈

Interests

Basicly my hobby and the biggest interest is trying and learning new things. Recently, I am practicing embroidery. However, there are things that I always love to do in my spare times like cooking, trekking and going to new places which can either be a shirine in my city that I have never been to or another country! Another thing that I enjoy is going somewhere central with a cup of delicious beverage and observe people which gives me a felling about their inner worlds with all of their happiness, sadness and thoughts.

  • cooking
  • traveling
  • volunteering
  • trekking
  • ceramics

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite book is Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. I think, everything about this book is moving and encouraging to discover more.

Hope that everybody will have the courage to search for their own treasures🎈

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to China and spending 3 months there by volunteering and traveling. It was my first ever abroad experience. It required a lot of courage for me to go out of my comfortzone but it definitely worthed!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach the languages that I can speak as I am also studying language teaching. On the top of that , I would be happy to teach my own culture and cuisine. Especially if you want to taste some Turkish food 😉

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook some Turkish food for you 💕 Turkish cuisine is world-wide famous and I am thankful for being born into it 😍 I may not cook Turkish kebap but I assure you there are many other delicious Turkish meals!

I can teach or help you to practice the languages I know, a teacher is always a teacher 🤓

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Hungary

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Japan, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Melike’s full profile. It’s free!