Melissa Higgins

San Francisco, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Educator
  • B.A. at UCSD and M.A. at SFSU
  • From Northridge, California
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To be violently happy! To connect with my world through exploration.


I love to learn, explore, and meet new people who help me broaden and challenge my world perspective.

I teach, I wonder, and I wander.


My goal is to be violently happy in as many moments that I can.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I couchsurfed in Italy during the summer of 2013 and I had a fantastic time! All of my hosts were interesting and fabulous in their own ways. I met a lot of people whom I still keep in touch with! In the past, I've lived with hosted families abroad, and I've hosted many travelers myself from a few days to one year!


reading, crafting, exploring

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything by Kurt Vonnegut. Thoreau. Italo Calvino. Gone with the Wind. Pablo Neruda. Heart of Darkness. Pride and Prejudice. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. My favorite book might be Dante's Inferno even though I don't understand it all.

I adore too many types of music and artists to list here.

And who could live without any musical (especially Bollywood) AND the evil dead trilogy?

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Shooting guns for the first time. And second time. And third. Discovering that it's a lot of fun even though I am very anti-gun.

A trip to Abruzzo, Italy when I was 19.

Teaching English in China. Eating dog and rabbit head on a stick.

Participating in a Lady Gaga flash mob.

I think I live many amazing moments every day!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Making jam, sausages, limoncello...and much more! Knitting. I'm great at teaching English.
Learn: I would love to learn better Italian and Spanish. I would also like to learn how to cook anything new!

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile. It’s free!