Merel Keela Meulemans's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Merel Keela’s full profile.


  • 2 references
  • Fluent in Ancient Greek, Dutch, English, French, Latin, Spanish; learning Irish, Korean
  • 19, Female
  • Member since 2024
  • Student/ traveller
  • Graduated secondary school with main focus in Ancient Gre...
  • From Leuven, Flemish Brabant, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm Keela and I'm just back from backpacking Colombia for a month after having lived with a family in Ubaté, Colombia for three months. In a little while I'll be leaving Belgium again to study in Korea for a semester! I love travelling and getting to know new people and cultures. At the moment I'm enjoying seeing my dog everyday😊

I'm an enthousiastic person when I'm with people I'm comfortable with, and love to talk for hours about anything and nothing. It's important to me to always have snacks with me, I tend to get hangry when I'm hungry!

Some of my favourite things to do are listening and making music, reading and dancing. I love all types of dance and did my best to learn salsa and bachata in Colombia!
I love being able to help people, one of my favourite experiences was working at a summer school with kids who were a little behind in their education and teaching them everything from maths to how to make cookies.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When travelling, I like to learn about the culture of the places I go to and how the people live, so while hostels are lovely, I'd like to stay with local people too to really immerse myself in their culture and maybe learn about some secret places that only locals visit😇


  • yoga
  • reading
  • piano
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • food
  • nature
  • dance
  • meeting people
  • talking with people
  • exchange culture
  • baking cakes
  • sweet tooth
  • training dogs
  • doing things
  • culture difference

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm still big in the fantasy phase of reading, but a good murder mystery can capture my attention too! I'm a big fan of Harry Potter. I usually don't have that much time to watch movies, but sometimes I enjoy a good comedy or kdrama. I love all types of music, from classical to kpop, and in various languages as well.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Decided to solo travel Colombia

What I Can Share with Hosts

A good conversation, I can teach about Belgian and Irish culture and teach you some fun words in different languages! If I have the ingredients I'm happy to make brownies or traditional Belgian pancakes!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Colombia, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Merel Keela’s full profile.