Logo orange

Merrilyn Kennedy

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Merrilyn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 42 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 66, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • traveller
  • lots (formal & informal)
  • From Sydney, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

interesting people & places

ABOUT ME

I have been sharing my time between Sydney and Sicily for the past 5 years but for now I'm more permanently back living in Sydney.

I've been fortunate to have had a zig-zagging life history with lots of international work and travel experience to give me a broad view of the world.

I like to do more than just tick off a list of travel sights. To me life is all about the people you meet and CS is an important part of my ongoing education.

PHILOSOPHY

Philosophically to the left; environmentally aware; trying to learn to be more zen in my approach to life.

My travel/hosting philosophy is all about making connections (and meeting people who understand that CS is not really just about saving money)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I enjoy helping other travellers of all ages and when I travel I look forward to meeting hosts that help me link in to their locale.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CouchSurfers have stayed with me and I've surfed in Sicily and Australia. I have also been active for some years in providing hospitality, house-swapping and being a guest through other travel sites and groups.

Interests

The usual ones - travel, meeting people, reading,

The less common ones - learning Italian, micro-credit loan systems, international volunteering, singing in choirs, The Slow Food movement (but I am a reluctant cook), ideas in general, life experiences

My not-for-profit bookshop in Sicily www.libridelmondo.org

Music, Movies & Books

books - too many to mention but mostly serious fiction or biography; Movies - yes; music (some)- yes ....

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Have hiked in Arctic Circle and lived/worked on 3 continents

Teach, Learn, Share

Alternatives for living after escaping the workforce

Countries I've Visited

Belize, China, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Slovenia, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, Italy, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Merrilyn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile