Олег / Oleg aka BigShadow's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Олег’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 65 References 54 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Russian, Ukrainian; learning English, Turkish
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • engineer
  • higher education
  • From Kyiv, Kyiv city, Ukraine
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

/* воплощаю свои мечты в жизнь */

Всем привет!
В мае 2017 я завершил своё семимесячное путешествие (Турция-Грузия-Баку-Дербент-Махачкала-Хасавюрт-Грозный-Пятигорск-Армавир-Ростов-Воронеж-Харьков-Минск-Брест-Владимир-Луцк-Ровно). В июле моя свободная жизнь временно закончилась из-за трудоустройства. Но надеюсь, что поездки в "малом формате" продолжатся.
В марте этого годя я побывал в Литве и познакомился там с замечательными людьми. В мае мне предстоит небольшой трип через Гданьск, Эйндховен и румынский город Орадя, о котором я узнал благодаря перелёту туда за пять евро :-)

Hello all!
In May 2017 I completed my seven-month journey (Turkey-Georgia-Baku-Derbent-Makhachkala-Khasavyurt-Grozny-Pyatigorsk-Armavir-Rostov-Voronezh-Kharkov-Minsk-Brest-Vladimir-Lutsk-Rivne). In July, my free life temporarily ended because of job placement. But I hope that the trips in the "small format" will continue.

***

I have engineer education. I had studied mechanics and technology of knitting. But after university I got a job of UNIX system administrator in police. Then I extended my skills in big telecommunication company as information security specialist.

I can communicate with different persons. It's easy to me.

At 2015 I left my employer and I had 3 long term trips in 2015-2017.
During my first trip (55 days) I visited Turkey, Greece, FYROM and Bulgaria. At Republic of Macedonia I had my first experience with couchsurfing.
During my 2nd trip (90 days) I visited 7 countries. I had started trip from Athens at October 2015. Next I was at Xylokastro, Patras, Lefkada and Igoumenitsa. After I visited Albania (Saranda, Vlore, Durres) I taken a ferry to Bari. From Rome I had the flight to Alicante. I spent more one month in Spain: Bilbao, Benidorm, Madrid, Valencia, Villajoyosa, Sevilla, Sanlucar de Barrameda, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Jerez, Cadiz and Merida. From Spain I moved to Portugal (Lisbon, Sintra, Coimbra, Porto, Felgueiras). Heavy rains in Portugal made my trip more difficult and I missed a lot of possibilities in Porto. And I had one week in France on my back way to home. I spent few days in Bordo and Toulouse. At the middle of January I flew away from Grenoble to Warsaw only for 10€. Thanks to Ryanair.
I spent more than seven months in my 3rd trip: three months at Turkey, three months at Georgia, one week at Baku and few weeks at my way through Russia from Azerbaijan to my home.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I often travel around Asia and Europe at least last 12 years. I want to meet new persons and new cultures. CS has allowed me to see life of people from different countries from inside. And I met here persons worthy of admiration.

I would began use CouchSurfing more early. But I was too conservative. It's a shame for me ;) This system increases the quantity of good in the world. And I feel now that the world does not seem hopeless.

Interests

I have several hobby. Photography and travelling are most important.
I started as photo amateur at school years when people used camera with films - http://hiero.ru/Bs

I'm partial to the fine arts and visited places associated with a few interesting artists to me. Sometimes I'm will can not skipping art gallery in any provincial town. I want learn more about styles of architecture and about history.

Also I like: go in mountain trekking, explore scenic railways and study WWII history.
And the Scotland had made from me a fan of whisky.

  • arts
  • photography
  • movies
  • traveling
  • jazz
  • backpacking
  • computer science
  • software
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains
  • films
  • cinema
  • climbing
  • trains
  • cinematography
  • open source
  • linux
  • railways
  • information technology
  • unix

Music, Movies, and Books

I like jazz and other good music. Every year I'm visiting jazz festival at Lviv.

Film directors: Sergei Parajanov, Jacques Tati, Aki Kaurismäki, Emir Kusturica, Akira Kurosawa, Wong Kar-wai, Kim Ki-duk, Michelangelo Antonioni, Tim Burton, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Luis Buñuel, Pedro Almodóvar.

Actors: Ivan Mykolaichuk, Hanna Schygulla, Oliver Reed, Keira Knightley, Johnny Depp, Monica Vitti, Sean Penn, Emma Thompson, Toshiro Mifune, Helena Bonham Carter, John Malkovich, Penélope Cruz, Bogdan Stupka.

Teach, Learn, Share

Изучаете русский? Тогда рассчитывайте на мою помощь.
If you want to learn cyrillic alphabet then I can help you.
Do you have interest to UNIX systems? You can ask me about it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like cooking. Do you want try ukrainian borsch or polish bigos? Or something from italian or turkish cuisine? Also I can share my traveling skills or tips.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Isle of Man, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Олег’s full profile. It’s free!