Sharyn Bates's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sharyn’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 36 References 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 70, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • I paint, play, travel, read. I manage my own property in...
  • Still Learning
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To have a good life, and promote the same in others.


I have a good and simple life in Mexico with my two dogs. I worked (and went to school) all my life from age 16 until I retired at 59. Now I try to pick up skills in creative ways. I love to visit galleries and museums when I travel, and flea markets and thrift stores and antique markets are my favorites. I love nature, but when I travel, I usually stay in cities and towns so I can walk for hours and see many things and sit in outdoor cafes to read, eat, and maybe meet people who live locally, and other travelers. I have finally traveled as a CS member looking for a 'couch', and I LOVED that experience as much as I've loved the travelers I have hosted. I look forward to continuing meeting people who would welcome me into their lives for a few days by hosting me in my travels, and by honoring me by letting me host them in my home in Mexico.

I have a son and daughter who I am very proud of, as they are wonderful loving, intelligent people, and two bright and adorable grandchildren, and a recent arrival of a gorgeous little baby granddaughter!

I've still never been to Thailand, India, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, Portugal...well the list goes on. I'd like to keep traveling as long as it is possible, and go to as many places as possible. This additional note in 2016, I'd like to go on a lengthy road trip around the US. There's so much I haven't seen of my own country, and I would like to visit Couchsurfing hosts along the way if possible.

Here at home in San Miguel de Allende, I paint, go to cultural events, enjoy my friends and my home. I have a steady stream of friends, family and new people from CS and from my rental properties.


Freedom is high on my list of important human conditions. Adventure, curiosity, kindness, empathy, compassion, good purposeful intentions, honor, and honesty are some of the qualities I like in myself and others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I started out by offering my guest/rental apartment whenever it was not rented or being used by my family and friends. But I've moved, so I now offer one or both of my guest bedrooms and bathroom to CSers. I provide all the towels and sheets/bedding. PLEASE DO NOT REQUEST A STAY OF JUST ONE NIGHT. i AM NOT A HOSTEL. On occasion I run out of beds, and if someone wants to camp on a camp mattress, that is fine with me. It's fun to have multiple guests.
I am happy to show my guests around the town. Usually they are much younger than I am, so if that is the case, they will probably keep different hours than I! I usually don't stay out very late, just now and then.

I like so much to hear the stories of the people who come here. In fact, for a few years, I help produce the International Storytelling Festival here in San Miguel de Allende.

I am not a party person, more like a 'mom' figure. I am happy to make a breakfast or lunch for my guests when they first arrive, and only occasionally after. I do expect people to provide their own food except for that. I will accept guests even when I am too busy to be very involved please understand.

My CS guests are welcome to use my laundry machines.

When I become a hosted traveler, I intend to do whatever I may do to help out in the home. Do you need someone to help clean, cook, feed the dog or cat? May I play with the little ones so you can do your shopping or have a date with Daddy/Mommy?

I will have to see what is the situation and respond accordingly. If my host wants social time, I am there! We can have coffee or a drink, and share life stories.

If they want to give me a bed, but they are too busy to pay much attention, I am an independent person who can entertain myself and explore the area without lots of attention. I respect all levels of participation. I find, however, that I need time alone to explore, and being given some free time to do that is much appreciated. I am retired, so being hosted can sometimes make travel possible, by cutting costs. Yes, I love to meet people and share stories, but I also admit that when I host and when I am hosted, part of the intention is to share my home and make it less expensive for fellow CSers traveling. When I'm the one traveling, it is not my intention or attitude to "use" another host, but I would not be honest if I didn't admit that not having to pay for a hotel is a big plus for me. And I appreciate and accept the generosity of other Couchsurfing members.


I would like opportunities to stay with you, host you, or house sit or exchange homes. I have experience in all the above. I would also love to meet other CSers while traveling, just for fun and companionship. I have friends of all ages, so while I'm not up for clubbing in the middle of the night, or mountain climbing, I am good company for walks around town, meals, museums, flea markets, and generally getting to know other independent travelers of the world.

Couch surfers are wonderful! I have hosted several times, for several years, and have wanted to keep each and every one of them longer than they stayed! I even got a home exchange with a Belgium family, for my trip to the EU. I have a good home to exchange, if that interests you. More on that elsewhere, or in groups just for exchange!


Travel, theater, storytelling, reading, art, genealogy, music, museums, nature, installation art exhibits, folk art, fine and contemporary art, dance, food, cooking, meeting new friends, exchanging stories, learning about other cultures and countries, open air markets, flea markets, thrift stores, walking and eating new and different to me foods.

  • pets
  • cats
  • dogs
  • arts
  • theater
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • coffee
  • running
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • gardening
  • shopping
  • thrifting
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • genealogy

Music, Movies, and Books

Egads! How do you narrow it down? I loved reading Greg Mortensen's book "Three Cups of Tea". But I also love a good mystery. PG Wodehouse is a favorite of mine, for good fun. The only thing I don't enjoy reading are romance novels and American text books. I love well written non-fiction, as long as it sounds like someone telling me a good story. (Try Bill Bryson) A true favorite book, and different from most of my reading was "Coming of Age in the Milkyway" by Timothy Ferris. Unbelievably great!
Music: Pretty eclectic. I love smooth jazz rather than progressive, grew up in the '60's, so love the oldies from 60's and 70's. R & B, Blues, Classical, Latin, Gypsy, even some Opera.

Movies: Hmmm Anything Sidney Poitier has done, French film, Chinese film, Alfred Hitchcock, Woody Allen, have you seen "Little Voice" or "Shirley Valentine"? Two great little films. I also like documentary film.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

What is the most amazing thing to me is to see what has happened in the world in my lifetime. Born in 1947, I remember when a television was the most amazing invention! And it was huge with a small screen, and a big magnifying glass could be attached to the screen so you could see it bigger. HA! I remember telling my son that computers were not worth having because it was just for playing pac man...HA! I saw the first object that man made orbit the earth, and the first steps on the moon! Back to computers, they were as big as a house and not as powerful as my tiny tablet or i-phone. Good grief! Yes, the most amazing thing I've ever 'done', is to observe the changes in the world in the span of one lifetime...and it ain't over yet. The most mysterious thing that I've personally "done", if you can say I did it, was to have an immediate "knowing" that someone I barely knew had died. That's a story to tell, so I won't write it here, but it was something amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I learn from each CSer I meet. Maybe they feel the same. The young people today amaze me with their bright minds, and open hearts. The elders, like myself, I am always happy to meet along our travels.

Conversation about our lives can be fun. Walking about town, or in the countryside. Going out for fun events, music, theater, I would enjoy sharing.

I can tell about life in Mexico as an expat, or what it was like growing up in California, and living there before I retired to Mexico. I know a little about genealogy, storytelling, home decoration, etc. I am not an expert in anything.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm happy to water plants/garden, walk the dog, help with something around the house. I would enjoy hearing their stories and taking my hosts out for a meal, or cooking one in their home for them, or with them. I can babysit while parents have an evening out. I can house and pet sit while they travel. I can offer to host them, and or exchange homes!

I can share some of my modest knowledge about storytelling, family research/genealogy, life in Mexico, in the USA.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Netherlands, Panama, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sharyn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups