Mathew Carley's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, Finnish, Georgian, Hindi, Japanese, Russian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Computer Technician, but anything musical, electronic, co...
  • by going to school ;)
  • From Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION life is changing and it's changing fast... currently looking for a change of scenery and have my eyes set on NYC or somewhere nearby.


I'm easy going (usually) but I like to know what's going on, which can make me seem uptight and/or distant.

I enjoy people, working, and amazing people with any talents I possess.

Languages are a big part of my life, and Music as a language is the ideal way to bring down any other linguistic barriers.

Cooking is great because it's a lot of fun, I enjoy it and people always appreciate it... It's good for the social side of life.

I like to try to communicate with other people, and therefore I try to get another few words in to my vocabulary from any country I might visit.


1. Do to others as you would want done to you.

2. If you haven't been there and done it, don't talk about it as if you were there. Knowledge from books isn't nearly as great as knowledge from experience.

3. Certain people will always ruin it for everyone else like them. (Did you know that some people actually think *ALL* Muslims are Terrorists, and all Terrorists are Muslims? What nonsense, give me a break!)

4. Unless someone has done something to me personally, then I have no grudge.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host as much as I'm able - with my schedule and frequent travelling it's not always easy to do. I have also been quite active in Hospitality Club (kind of the "open-source" couchsurfing - same username, more reviews!)


I'm a member of both Couchsurfing and Hospitality Club - I used to be very active in HC in 2007 and 2008 but it's been a while since I've hosted or been hosted by anyone in either organization.

I don't seem to get many requests in India, but for those few I have had, I didn't get to host as many as I would have liked (due to the rules in the housing society or the fact that I've been building a startup there).


Seeing stuff you wouldn't find on my island

and so on :)

  • culture
  • books
  • cooking
  • clubbing
  • electronics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

1 Giant Leap

World Music
Techno/Trance/House etc
...pretty much everything

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It's hard to talk about ones own life as being amazing, especially when modesty is a part of the culture you come from. (Well, actually it's not... but I had a lot of Chinese and Japanese friends.)

Ask me about my life, and I'll share it with you.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to cook. I love to travel. I can tell a few stories, and I'm not as weird as I look. Or maybe I am. But not in the bad way.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, Panama, Romania, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, France, Georgia, India, Japan, New Zealand, Qatar, Thailand, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathew’s full profile. It’s free!