Melissa Hickson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile.

Overview

  • 43 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Rafting outpost assistant manager, kayak instructor
  • No education listed
  • From Cleveland, TN, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in east Tennessee, and I love those mountains with all my heart. That being said, I am afflicted with a terminal case of wanderlust. The doctors say it's incurable, and the symptoms only seem to be worsening with time. I have spent the last two years splitting my time between working in Chile as a whitewater kayak instructor and working in whitewater rafting in Tennessee, and hope to continue chasing beautiful rivers around the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As a host, I enjoy meeting kindred spirits with interesting stories. It can help me bide my time until my next adventure. I like to pay forward the kindnesses that have been extended to me.

As a surfer, I love Couchsurfing as a way to meet new people and get the local scoop on a place. I don't travel in order to lock myself away in a sterile hotel room somewhere. I travel to make connections: with people, with nature, with food...

Interests

My passion is for adventure, wherever I can find it. Sometimes I find it in an engaging conversation. Sometimes I find it in a new challenge. Mostly I find it outdoors: horseback riding, hiking, mountain biking, kayaking, wakeboarding, and riding motorcycles are all pretty high on the list.

  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • running
  • drinking
  • flying
  • motorcycles
  • boating
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • equestrian
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • wakeboarding
  • sports
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a voracious reader, will devour anything I can get my hands on, from classical literature to a tube of toothpaste. The Count of Monte Cristo is probably the best book I have read to date. In general, I tend to read a lot of sci-fi and fantasy. J. R. R. Tolkien is hands-down my favorite author.

I'm a fan of video games, though I play them less frequently as time goes on. I will definitely throw down in any game you choose, though if that choice is Smash Bros, you'd better watch out...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most awesome, life-changing moments rarely come as big, discrete events, but instead as appreciation of little bits of wonder. Cliff-jumping in February at night. That incredible rush of power when I run my horse flat-out. A sunset in northern Mongolia that looked like fire raining from the sky. Dancing alone under the stars. Dancing until dawn in a Rio favela. The smell and feel of rich, loamy earth. Watching a volcano glow at night from the middle of a whitewater river. Finding unlooked-for rapport with a stranger. The heat of sun-warmed Yosemite granite. The feeling, somewhere between dancing and flying, when you hit a set of twisties on a motorcycle just right.

This life is one beautiful adventure blended into another.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach: whitewater kayaking, horseback riding, boating sports (wakeboarding, skiing, etc), photography.

I'd like to learn: anything you're willing to teach! If nothing else, teach me a few handy words in your language (drinking salutes, swear words - y'know, the essentials).

What I Can Share with Hosts

Overlong stories and killer guacamole.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Mexico, Mongolia, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Melissa’s full profile.

My Groups