Michael Ben Yehuda's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Italian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Psychologist
  • Psychology PhD
  • From Rome, Rome, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi there, I'm Michael! I've been living in the UK for the past decade but originally grew up in Italy. When I'm not working (I work in psychological research and mental health), I try to spend as much of my time outdoors as possible, whether it's exploring new places on foot/cycling and hiking or out on the water rowing. I'm also a big music lover--being a rockstar was plan A, as a kid, but I ended up having to settle for psychology, instead--so try to go to gigs whenever possible and love learning about new artists.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've always loved travelling, exploring new places and cultures, and meeting new people. In October I will begin my training as a clinical psychologist here in the UK, so I have decided to spend my last summer of freedom (2022) for a while travelling solo across the US for a few weeks. As happy as I am in my own company, I would love to meet and connect with locals wherever I visit to truly learn about the places I see and, hopefully, make a few new friends along the way and start hosting come the Autumn too.

Interests

  • reading
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • rowing
  • psychology
  • exploring

Music, Movies, and Books

(Some) Books: East of Eden, The Outsiders, The Corrections, Say Nothing, The Secret History, Shuggie Bain, The Tiger's Wife.
Films: Good Will Hunting, Star Wars, Donnie Darko, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Belfast, City of God, Small Axe, Hunt for the Wilderpeople.
Music: pretty much anything good, from rock to pop, punk, metal, ska, classical and anything in-between!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've recently spent a weekend rowing the 110 miles along the Thames from Oxford to London, and hope to one day row the Atlantic Ocean. I also recently ate two whole pizzas in one sitting, which is probably the more impressive of the two feats.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always keen to learn about the secrets and special foods of the places I visit. In exchange, I can help people practice any of the languages that I speak, so if you're looking to improve your English, Italian, or Hebrew, give me a shout!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Having spent the first 20 years of my life in Italy, I like to think that I can make some decent pasta, which I am always happy to share! I am also a clean and tidy person, and can help with any cleaning and washing up.

As I spent much of my adult life in academic environments (studying and doing research), I also get really excited discussing and learning about anything from psychology and philosophy to topics about which I know less, as well as exchanging music, film, and book recommendations!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Italy, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.