Michael Devlin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Sanskrit (Saṁskṛta), Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Product Designer
  • MA in Applied Ethics, BA Hons Degree in Audio Production
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hola! I'm Michael, a British-Irish guy originally from Liverpool, now living and working in London as a UX/Web Designer in London. I've had some amazing adventures around the world through this incredible website...

I spent ten months in Sweden studying Applied Ethics, having deep conversations with my fellow Philosophy classmates, and embracing the local culture. Following that, I taught English in Taiwan for a year, which was a super rewarding experience.

One of the highlights of my travels was a six-month journey across India. It was an incredible time, and I also had the opportunity to visit the Philippines, Nepal, Thailand, and Myanmar. The diversity, history, and beauty of these places left a lasting impression on me, and I'm truly in love with South Asia as a whole.

On a language note, I've been trying to learn Spanish, but I must admit my progress has been limited. I'm currently at an A2/B1 level, but Iove having conversations in Spanish to improve, so if you speak Spanish - ¡podemos intentar tener una conversación! I'm also interested in learning Hindi/Urdu and/or Sanskrit, both in written and verbal forms.

I'm grateful for the Couchsurfing community, and I hope to host fellow surfers once I no longer have housemates who won't let me. For now, I'm excited to connect, share stories, and perhaps find language exchange partners or fellow travelers.

Deja el pasado atrás y disfruta el presente (Leave the past behind and enjoy the present) ✨

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Hoping to have interesting conversations with and meet like-minded CSers!

Interests

Philosophy (especially Eastern), Tea, Culture, Reading, Art, Meditation, Yoga, Hiking, Trekking, Nature, Animals, Swimming, Cycling, Dancing, Singing, Football, Guitar, Sauna, Bowling

  • animals
  • birds
  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • singing
  • dancing
  • environment
  • indian food
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • sauna
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • bowling
  • ecology
  • philosophy
  • art
  • nature
  • football
  • tea
  • cultures
  • forests
  • trekking
  • spirituality
  • theatre
  • plant-based food
  • trees
  • nature conservation
  • psychedelia
  • entheogens
  • nonduality
  • advaita

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Gil Scott-Heron, Miles Davis, Alice Coltrane, The Beatles, Tame Impala, Rock, Hip-Hop, House, Disco, Funk, Soul, Acoustic, Classical, Piano, Jazz...

Books: 1984, Zen Mind Beginners Mind, Burmese Days, Siddhartha, The Little Prince, The Doors of Perception, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Steppenwolf, Brave New World, The Psychedelic Experience, Meditations, I Am That, Tao Te Ching, The Bhagavad Gita and some more Science/Philosophical and Non-Fiction

Movies: Casablanca, Dog Day Afternoon, Okja, Snowden, Interstellar, American Werewolf in London, The Corporation, Cowspiracy, The Martian, The Matrix, The Fly, The Thing, Stanley Kubrick films, Hitchcock films, Tarantino films, Documentaries...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent a month volunteering to build a school for earthquake victims in Nepal and hiking across the Annapurna, and also managed to squeeze in 7 days on a meditation retreat

Teach, Learn, Share

Guitar, Spanish, conversation and lots of anecdotes!

What I Can Share with Hosts

All of the above... :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Sweden, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

My Groups