Michael Wilson

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Outreach high school teacher (designed for students who s...
  • Bachelor of Arts (English Lit and History) and Masters in...
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I'm a high school teacher currently staying still in Montreal while planning his next vacation. In the meantime I hope to meet some great new people, show off Montreal, and support the Couchsurfing project by making my couch available for guests.


I’m a 30 year old high school teacher who was born and raised in Montreal. I studied English Literature and History in University. I’m a big reader, music fan (especially indie rock), and travel as often as possible. I like to vary my time, both traveling and at home between being out in nature or hanging out in restaurants, bars, and going on hikes. Being from Montreal, a city that’s just frozen 4-5 months a year seriously cuts back on your outdoor activities and forces you to take advantage of good weather whenever possible.


I believe it’s important to be as honest, sincere, and generous towards others as possible. It is a rewarding experience.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've hosted a few backpackers this year and we had great experiences. They shared their travel tips stories, and I told them a little about Montreal while showing them around some popular bars parts of the city.


I've only hosted so far. It's been a great experience. I've had a chance to practice my French and Spanish, get great travel tips, and meet some very respectful, interesting, and appreciative people. A really cool part about hosting is seeing Montreal through other people and getting a new appreciation for it.


I like to do a lot of reading, learn about different parts of the world, go hiking and out into nature, and practice speaking different languages (French and Spanish).

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite groups are Montreal's Arcade Fire and Wolf Parade. I also love Rural Alberta Advantage, LCD Soundsystem, and Alt-J (check em out).

I'm a big fan of American southern gothic literature, especially William Faulkner and Cormac Mccarthy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In June I hosted some friends of a friend. They were a traveling Swedish street band that play a mixture of ska/reggae/ and jazz. During this time I brought them around Montreal to street fairs, parties, and parks moonlighting as their manager. It was a lot of fun seeing how well people responded to the randomness of the moment and participate within it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Spain, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!