Michael Franke's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Portuguese, Spanish, Swahili, Wolof
  • 69, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • organizing bicycle tours
  • social sciences
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

living in the heart of Berlin in a community housing project at Park am Gleisdreieck. I like bicycle tours and I am a tour guide with the German bicycle association.
Having worked in development NGOs dealing with small scale projects in Africa for more than 30 years.
having travelled in half of the African countries.

In summer I usually have cyclists staying with me for one, two or three days. Cyclists going from north to south or east to west on their bicycle tour in Europe like to have a stopover in Berlin too. They usually don’t look for CS but WS – which is the warmshowers.com website. You may find me there too, see the photos.

Warm Showers is free and based on voluntary work – as it was for couchsurfing long time ago.
You may register with WS too if you like to meet/ host a cyclist.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am travelling a lot and receive so much hospitality all over the world that I want to give back a little bit. I travelled widely and still believe that it is worth to meet people in other parts of the world. For more than 20 years I organized bicycle tours in African countries: www.afrika-erleben.de

Interests

  • reading
  • music
  • riding bicycle
  • jazz music
  • african music

What I Can Share with Hosts

riding bicycle in town and outside of Berlin, vegetarian food, jazz concerts

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Philippines, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Senegal

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.