Michael Gentry's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Travelling
  • Lots
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travelling the world on a two year extended honeymoon. Three months in Africa, followed by sailing the Caribbean, Panama, Pacific Islands back to Australia.

ABOUT ME

I worked long and hard for 10 years, then decided to marry my wife (YEAH!!) and take a 2 year sabbatical together to travel.

We are on that journey now!

I'm originally from Canada, but have lived in the US (Virginia, then NYC) and most recently in Sydney Australia for the last 5 years.

PHILOSOPHY

My philosophy is like the wind, constant only in its changes. To be wedded to strongly to any idea prevents opportunities to grow and develop.

I'm currently a rather agnostic rationalist with faith that humans can make the world better, not worse, if we try.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have nothing to offer for hosting at the moment - we sold everything to travel for two years. So I can only offer my company if I come to stay with you ;)

Payback will have to be down the track.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Just starting out - looking for first hosts in the Caribbean in September 2012 (Martinique, St.Martin, St.Lucia & BVI probably).

Interests

sailing, travelling, kiteboarding, surfing, outdoors life (camping, hiking, etc.)

  • fish
  • boating
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • track and field
  • law

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I think I've ever done is to convince my wife to marry me ;)

I've seen so many cool and beautiful things that to list any one seems to start an avalanche in my mind - so will just say "life".

Teach, Learn, Share

Once we have a boat, will be happy to teach friends to sail, fish, etc.

Can also explain complex legal terminology if you have trouble sleeping.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Botswana, China, Dominican Republic, France, Japan, Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Africa, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups