Logo orange

Michael Raymond

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Uni
  • From Melbourne
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Letting go of my own self guidance and waiting for the world to show me the way

ABOUT ME

Mike is an approachable young man from Melbourne. He suffers from an addiction to music festivals which has seen him flee his country and blow his life-savings in the pursuit of bigger and stronger hits.

His love for music festivals takes root in his creative nature. One with an imagination and a mind that simply doesn't stop ticking over. He's always got an idea and opinion; which probably triggers his interest in the arts.

PHILOSOPHY

"Give a man a fish, feed him for a day. Teach a man a fish and you feed him for a lifetime"

It's becoming more apparent Mike that education is sooo important and that knowledge is the best tool that someone can have.

It's good to use Superstition (positive) to guide you through life. Self belief and confidence are one of the most essential tools for coping and success.

Whilst neither a religious person nor spiritual, Mike likes the ideas of being spiritual. One particular might be numerology. Religion on the other hand he is very skeptical of.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Yet to make his debut couch surfing!

Interests

Although he has never studied art he has studied architecture and media (the latter; only at high-school) between which the boundaries may blur. His studies have led to opportunities to work in the art medium; working on projects with 'body architect' Lucy McRae and Vienese collaborative Numen/ForUse. These pieces have definitely pushed that overlap of Architecture > art < media. A direction he would like to see his own work head in the future.

Ultimately Mike would combine his passion with his addiction and perform set design for music festivals and/or artists. Some good examples of work he aspires to are set/show/stage designs acquired by Amon Tobin and Etienne DeCrecy.

Music, Movies & Books

Whilst he doesn't read, Mike does like to type, and quite often goes into unnecessary detail. He likes to be quirky and a little bit different. The fact that he is writing this in third person might have something to do with that. But could also be seen that he truly reflecting on himself.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

In no particular order:

1. Visiting the Angkor Wat in Cambodia. Such a great day on hired mountain bikes exploring at our own pace.
2. Looking over Port Moresby just before sunset, the harbour was just such a beautiful sight.
3. Ferry Corsten dropping 'Human' by The Killers at Summadayze 2009 in Melbourne, Australia.
4. Festival Tomorrowland 2012, Belgium. Paul Van Dyk's set was the best I've ever heard (to date)

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:

So he's told you a heap about arty stuff, but he's now going to teach you about some other interests. Mike loves the outdoors. Cycling is a favorite; all forms. BMX is the best thing they've ever done to the Olympics.

Mike's a sweet tooth. If you ask him to cook a meal, chances are you'll get 3 courses of dessert. His creative side makes him want to CREATE, so he loves spending some time in the kitchen.

He likes to veg out and watch comedy films/television and eat icecream with milo. If you can't make him laugh at least once, he might lose interest.

He would love to produce an album, but can't play any instruments.

Learn:

- second language! (Spanish, German or French)
- Piano

Share:

I love to share everything about me. An open person with nothing to hide. So if you want to know something, I'm a very approachable person.

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile