Michaela Kobsa-Mark's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michaela’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Arabic, Hebrew (modern), Wolof
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Recent graduatee from a liberal arts school you've never ...
  • I have been educated very well thank you
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm 26 and currently studying documentary filmmaking in Baden-Württemberg. I'm interested in anthropology, like learning languages, and a very open and joking person. I have been living, working, and studying in various cities around the world and am now planning on getting my life together. Just not sure what that means or how to do it.

In the last few years since graduating, I've had the privilege to work and study in Virginia, Jokkmokk and Riksgränsen, Cleveland, Bethlehem, Vienna, and Beirut. I have also been trying to visit more countries in Europe as well and get an understanding of my surroundings.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to host people and show them my culture and love it when people also feel that same desire to host me.

I personally don't like being removed from the culture that I'm visiting so staying in someone's home roots me in a way. I also really love to speak with people about the culture of their place to try to widen my understanding of the world.

I'm an easy-going person who gets along with many people. Unfortunately, I've had situations where people have tried to take advantage of the traveler/host symbiosis. So please do not mistake Couch Surfing for Tinder for Travelers-- I'm on CS to discover the world, not to date its inhabitants. As long as we respect each other on both sides, I think we can really profit from the interaction of getting to know each other and our cultures :)

Interests

1) Living in different cultures to give me different insights.

2) Solo traveling (which I either do cause it's fun or I have no friends, not sure which).

2.5) PEOPLE.

3) Filmmaking

4) Reading, writing

5) Different types of exercise, whether it's jogging, challenging hikes, trying out krav maga and capueira, etc.

6) F00d

7) Making numbered lists (makes me feel like I'm in control of the world, ya know?)

8) Trying new things. I'm a huge experience junkie

  • writing
  • film making
  • dining
  • exercise
  • reading
  • traveling
  • magic
  • hiking
  • solo travel

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A few years ago I did a two week solo road trip from Colorado Springs to Los Angeles. It was beautiful, unplanned, a tad bit cathartic, sometimes stressful, and just an all around great experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you German, French, and Wolof, a bit of Arabic, Hebrew, Swahili, and Luo.

I can teach you how to work manual functions on a camera.

I can also show you how to make pretty cool cloth beads

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hungary, Italy, Kenya, Montenegro, Morocco, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, Israel, Lebanon, Palestine, Senegal, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michaela’s full profile.

My Groups